Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Pompeii Oven Construction

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2009, 10:29 AM
Laborer

Default Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven

I think I have pretty much read every post on this site and would like to start by thanking James and everyone in charge for keeping this site up and running. It is an invaluable resource for people like me trying to building an oven. Without everyone on this forum I would be completely lost as I have no mason\brick experience what-so-ever. So, on to the build...

I started this late last fall and thought I would post my progress. I have the pad and stand in, and I poured the bottom part of the hearth last night. I have a question I was hoping someone could answer.

I am only going to pour the 5:1 perlite\portland mixture in the area just under the oven\entry. I would like the surrounding edges and front to be solid concrete as I will be screwing metal studs to the hearth and want a solid foundation to screw into. Do you think it would be OK to cover the insulated portion of the hearth with a thin layer of regular concrete to keep everything perfectly smooth for the firebrick? I was thinking like 1\4-1\2".

Thanks, Scott...
Attached Thumbnails
Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven-smuth1.jpg   Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven-smuth2.jpg   Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven-smuth3.jpg   Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven-smuth4.jpg  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by smuth10; 05-06-2009 at 11:57 AM.
Old 05-06-2009, 11:23 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Smuth's 36" Pompeii Oven

Scott - why not just screed it even with fireclay as recommended? Seems like a faster and easier approach.

Les...

If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Old 05-06-2009, 11:36 AM
Laborer