Old 10-17-2007, 06:17 PM
Laborer

Default NH Progress pictures

I decided to build the entry way arch and dome all at the same time. I couldn't visualize building the entry arch and then the dome. Everything is tied together so it is working so far. No forms except for the entry way. Cutting the bricks for tight seams is getting more complicated as things get tighter. A wedge started developing at the bottom so I am now trimming a little of the edge to reduce this to keep the joints tight.

My HF saw is still running but they are sending me a new motor. Mine wouldn't spin up fast enough to release the brake so I had to remove a spring. The HD blade is much thinner than the HF blade so it cuts quicker and quieter but doesn't track as true.

Happy with the progress so far. I'm not very experienced with the whole brick thing so it takes me a long time to do each course. No idea how someone could build the dome in a day...

Funny how the pictures make things look so bad, in person I think it looks much better.
Attached Thumbnails
NH Progress pictures-dscf3939-2.jpg   NH Progress pictures-dscf3941-2.jpg  
Old 10-17-2007, 07:29 PM

Default Re: NH Progress pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentcpa View Post
The HD blade is much thinner than the HF blade so it cuts quicker and quieter but doesn't track as true.
I've been through four blades so far. I found the original HF blade wore out way too quick - it didn't seem to have much diamond in the rim. I had the best luck with the HD smooth generic tile blades, I got good quick cuts, and more longevity with those. I now have the yellow Dewalt blade on the machine. I think it has a finer grit diamond. It doesn't seem to cut nearly as fast.

Quote:
Funny how the pictures make things look so bad, in person I think it looks much better.
Don't talk it down. Your dome looks GREAT.
Old 10-17-2007, 07:31 PM
Master Builder

Hi Gentcpa,