Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Pompeii Oven Construction

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 04:14 AM
Peasant

Default Filling the gaps with mortar

Ok some I'm a newbie and have just finished the dome (see my build Scotty 36 sunshine coast, Australia) I'm not a master brick layer, I'm a helicopter pilot. Some of my joins on the oven side are not ideal, not terrible maybe 5mm gap here and there, can I just climb inside and use the same mortar to fill the gaps from the inside? I'm using a mix of fire clay/cement/lime/sand so far to stick the dome together. I have heard that cement can break down under xtreame heat, so would my planed mix work?!?
The mix is 10 sand/6 fire clay/3 lime/2 cement.
Thanks
Scotty
Old 01-25-2012, 04:58 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Filling the gaps with mortar

The consensus seems to be that any breakdown of the Portland cement is compensated for by the lime.
The usual mix is sand, fireclay, lime, cement 3:1:1:1 Your brew is pretty close, but has more fireclay. Too much clay can create excessive shrinkage, but you should be ok.
Old 01-25-2012, 10:24 AM
Serf

question about the heat could a person add more lime to the mix maybe like
3:1:2:1 to help with the heat more ?????

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mike
Old 11-14-2013, 02:09 PM
Serf

Hi, I have just closed the dome on my 37-in Pompeii, and notice some mighty large gaps in the inside joints. Did you end up filling them, (I'm using refractory mortar), and if so, how? Did it work out well? Appreciate any responses!
Old 11-14-2013, 02:30 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Gudday
I had the same and couldn't help myself and disregarded good advice and crawled in and patch a small section. They were right it didn't work and fell out.
Just live with it,its a dome and is strong for that reason not pretty brickwork.
Regards dave

My Build