#1  
Old 07-25-2011, 09:34 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 176
Default Electrical Question while planning my build

Hello everybody,

I am still in my planning and design phase of my WFO and I need some help. I want to run a power line to my WFO but I can't afford to build the oven AND dig up then replace my conrete patio to make it possible to have power out there. In order to get around this problem I am thinking about wiring the entire thing as if I was running an underground power line to it but also setting it up so that I can just run an extension cord to it and plug it in to get my power. The things that could potentially need power might include a few lights, an audio system (speakers, iPod dock, etc.) and anything else I might think of.

So my questions are...does anybody have any idea if this will work? And has anybody tried this before? I have no electrical, building or masonry skills but I have found this forum incredibly helpful so far and I am anxious to hear what you all have to say.

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

Nate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2011, 12:28 AM
Laborer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 62
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

There is no reason it wouldn't work. I would use a heavy gague exterior, grounded cord and use a GFCI circuit. I would venture a guess that it wouldn't be to "code"... but physically it should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2011, 09:33 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 176
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

Thanks cholme. I am glad to hear that it should at least physically work. I will talk to a relative who is an electrician by trade and see what we can put together.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2011, 10:14 AM
Cheesesteak's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca
Posts: 192
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

I was at a local home show some years ago and looked at some BBQ islands that are built and delivered to your home for my yard. It had a stereo and outlets in it - and I asked how they recommended wiring it.

To my surprise - they showed me that they hardwired a plug into one of the outlets - a male end of a plug. They said to just "plug" that into the end of an extension cord. It worked just fine - although I'm surprised they wired and sold a product like that.

The plug was wired to one of the outlets - and then the rest of the unit was wired with 14/2 Romex.

It's the same concept as a "suicide cord" (named for obvious reasons). Here's one:

Amazon.com: 14 Gauge 2 Male End 3 Prong 2 Foot Extension Cord: Home Improvement

I can't believe they make these things - it's like having bare wires for someone to grab . . .

Don't try this at home folks - it's dangerous.

Last edited by Cheesesteak; 07-26-2011 at 10:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2011, 10:37 AM
Laborer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 62
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

Wow!!! That plug just seems like an accident waiting to happen. I have seen people jerry rig things like that, but I wouldn't have though someone would sell them. A much safer way seems like either to hardwire a cord to a j-box and just plug it in when you need it... or if you want a detachable cord, use a plug like those used for a computer printer. I don't know what gague wire they are and it would require a bit more wiring as you would need the male and female end.

Talk to your electrician friend. I would advise against the double ended male plug... you could potentially have 120volts of exposed wires in your hands if you don't pay attention.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2011, 05:19 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 153
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

NEVER EVER EVER use a double ended male plug!!!!
Your electrician friend should be all the help you need....Underground 12/2 (just to be safe) in a concrete sawed trench will be fine unless you go around the patio in the dirt...same wire....
They sell the pre-wired units just to sell the units....regardless of safety...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2011, 05:47 PM
ggoose's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 201
Default Re: Electrical Question while planning my build

I built a structure wired just this way; UF wire to the outlets/switches, etc. on one end and a gfi outlet on the other (ground it w/ a grounding rod). I plug power into the gfi and it powers all of the ther outlets/switches. Has worked great for years with no problems. I only run a few hundred watts on it though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utility Trailer Cast Oven Build johngalt Other Oven Types 11 05-03-2011 08:17 AM
Hearth build up / strength question tryrook Newbie Forum 4 08-31-2010 05:10 PM
Mark CH's build finally starts... Mark CH Brick Oven Photos 14 07-01-2010 06:05 PM
UK planning permissions and smoke control areas Wlodek Tools, Tips and Techniques 3 11-04-2007 08:22 AM
Oven Kit Question :confused: mrpbjnance Modular Refractory Oven Installation 3 04-18-2006 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC