#1  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:53 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 10
Default Do I mortar first course to floor?

I know, its probably a pretty silly question, but I can't find the answer one way or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:56 PM
GianniFocaccia's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA
Posts: 1,373
Default Re: Do I mortar first course to floor?

It is not prescribed, nor is it necessary. The floor will expand/contract and move through normal operation and break any bonds created by mortaring. Besides, if you ever needed to replace a floor brick and it was mortared down, you'd kick yourself.
John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:58 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 10
Default Re: Do I mortar first course to floor?

Thanks for the quick response. I'm heading out to mix up some mortar, for the second course, of course.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dome on top of floor - mortar dome to floor? Cheesesteak Pompeii Oven Construction 3 04-29-2011 07:11 AM
Fireclay vs refractory mortar (for setting oven floor) Tenorio74 Finding Building Materials 12 01-06-2011 04:49 PM
why not refactory mortar to set floor? Therieau Pompeii Oven Construction 2 12-31-2010 06:28 AM
Vent Size, mortar floor: Please Help! Tom B Newbie Forum 1 08-13-2009 04:35 AM
Hardibacker to level floor bricks? Fireclay vs refractory mortar Roadkyng Pompeii Oven Construction 2 07-05-2009 03:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC