Old 09-12-2009, 04:31 PM
Serf

Default UK problems

I know this going over old ground but I have to ask a few questions.
I've built my stand, the vermiculite layer is drying as we speak. I live in deepest darkest Cornwall and I'm having difficulty sourcing firebricks and fire clay. The only firebricks I can find are 25mm thick, is this too thin? Has anyone use London type regrade bricks for either oven floor or dome?
Are there any alternatives to fireclay/is it neccessary? As a first time builder I look daft enough in travis perkins/jewsons without asking for stuff that they've never heard of!
Again, I appreciate these questions have been asked before. I'm just asking in case there any other builders in Cornwall/Devon that found any decent suppliers/merchants.
Many thanks, james
Old 09-12-2009, 04:41 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: UK problems

"25mm thick,"

One inch is pretty thin. A typical fire brick is 2 1/2 inches. Another source of information that may be available locally to you are potters. They deal with materials and heat issues not too dissimilar to oven builders.
Old 09-12-2009, 05:12 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

It sounds like you are talking about Kiln or furnace brick, ? different than fire brick... Have you considered casting your dome ? Is Reafractory cement available ? Or what other brick options do you have ? In austrailia they use a brick called pressed reds... Its a solid brick,,as nothing with holes in it should be used unless they are filled (I think) I am trying to offer some solutions and am far from an expert so if any one else here has some ideas please chime in.....
Old 09-12-2009, 08:36 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

These guys are in the UK. I didn't have time for more than a quick hunt through my Bookmarks though.

Thermal Ceramics

"Success isn't permanent and failure isn't fatal." -Mike Ditka
[/CENTER]
Old 09-12-2009, 10:58 PM
Journeyman

James,