#1  
Old 11-29-2007, 03:50 PM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,876
Default thermocouples... same o same o

I'm sure this has been covered..
But...

What temperature do thermocouples need to be rated to?

If they are embedded in the floor bricks .. say 1/2" from the oven floor, how hot will they get?
And if they are embedded in the dome bricks.. say 1/2" from the inside surface of the upper dome... how hot will they get?

Will a 900f probe work, or do I need ones rated to 1200f or more.



I need your help here Jim! .. Time to earn that new title!

Actually, I would appreciate any help.

Thanks everyone!

Dave
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2007, 05:29 PM
Versachi's Avatar
Laborer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada
Posts: 73
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Hey Dave, I have two thermos in the floor and one is about a half inch below the surface. My thermos are rated for 1000F and I have had it read over a 1000 a few times and once 1035F. It is amazing the difference in temp between one near the surface and one just a couple of inches below. Of course I didn't figure that out. It was from that guy that just past 1000 posts....what's his name again? I am starting to think that his name is "thanks again Jim"

Cheers, John
__________________
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas A. Edison
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:45 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 19
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Since you bring up the idea of thermocouples, I'd like to ask what the general experience is between theromocouples and the infrared thermometers. Are they interchangeable? Which is better
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:14 AM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricocamus View Post
Since you bring up the idea of thermocouples, I'd like to ask what the general experience is between theromocouples and the infrared thermometers. Are they interchangeable? Which is better
I think the main difference is thermocouples will give depth readings and the infrared themos will give you surface temps.
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:15 AM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Versachi View Post
Hey Dave, I have two thermos in the floor and one is about a half inch below the surface. My thermos are rated for 1000F and I have had it read over a 1000 a few times and once 1035F. It is amazing the difference in temp between one near the surface and one just a couple of inches below. Of course I didn't figure that out. It was from that guy that just past 1000 posts....what's his name again? I am starting to think that his name is "thanks again Jim"

Cheers, John

Thanks John. So do you think I would be fine with thermos rated to 1000f?
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:28 AM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,479
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Yeah, who is that guy? Masked man, likely. Anyhow, my thermos are rated at 1000 F, but I've had them reading as high as 1050 with no ill effects. Usually, the floor reading is in the 900 range before I let the oven moderate. As I see it, the real difference is that thermocouples will give you reliable temps at various spots in the brick and any additional mass. The guns will supply surface temps, but they won't say if the brick and mass have been saturated.

Jim
__________________
"Made are tools, and born are hands"--William Blake, 1757-1827
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2007, 07:33 AM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckJim View Post
Yeah, who is that guy? Masked man, likely. Anyhow, my thermos are rated at 1000 F, but I've had them reading as high as 1050 with no ill effects. Usually, the floor reading is in the 900 range before I let the oven moderate. As I see it, the real difference is that thermocouples will give you reliable temps at various spots in the brick and any additional mass. The guns will supply surface temps, but they won't say if the brick and mass have been saturated.

Jim
Good enough.

Thanks Jim. I didn't want to order the wrong ones.
Now.. I just need a source for J types.....
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2007, 07:07 PM
Versachi's Avatar
Laborer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada
Posts: 73
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Can you get high temperature J thermocouples? I thought that K's are for high temps. I could be wrong and I am not an expert by any means. Take a look on ebay for some thermocouples. I bought mine there and they were 10 or so bucks a piece.

Cheers, John
__________________
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas A. Edison
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2007, 07:34 PM
wlively's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spring Branch, TX 78070
Posts: 384
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

J-type temp range is 32 <-> 1380 deg F 0 <-> 750 deg C.

K-type temp range is -300 <-> 2280 deg F -200 <-> 1250 deg C.

The temp error is the same for both (2.2 deg C or 0.75% whichever is greater), so the K-type is much more widely used and easier to find.

Problems with J type is iron is one of the metals so is prone to corrrosion in wet environments. Is less widely used and on the way out, as it were. Also, if embedded inside the brick it is not a concern with our use, but if you choose to leave the tip exposed passed the brick exceeding 1390 deg will induce permanent errors in the output. IE; no longer accurate.

For those who want more education, this is a good link.
Thermocouple application note from Pico Technology
__________________
Wade Lively
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:43 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 19
Default Re: thermocouples... same o same o

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckJim View Post
Yeah, who is that guy? Masked man, likely. Anyhow, my thermos are rated at 1000 F, but I've had them reading as high as 1050 with no ill effects. Usually, the floor reading is in the 900 range before I let the oven moderate. As I see it, the real difference is that thermocouples will give you reliable temps at various spots in the brick and any additional mass. The guns will supply surface temps, but they won't say if the brick and mass have been saturated.

Jim
Thanks for the enlightenment on what the thermometers will do.

Now, for another 'serf' question - why do we need to know if the brick has been saturated? Isn't the surface temperature what counts for cooking?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermocouples -- what to do? ihughes Tools, Tips and Techniques 18 11-18-2008 06:36 PM
Using thermocouples Versachi Getting Started 7 11-16-2007 04:25 PM
Thermocouples: what kind? Wlodek Tools, Tips and Techniques 5 10-31-2007 04:18 AM
Thermocouples - Are you still using them? Ken524 Getting Started 6 08-11-2007 03:08 AM
Thermocouples james Getting Started 3 07-15-2006 06:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC