Old 08-13-2013, 09:32 AM
Serf

Default Mortaring

Should I mortar the first chain to the firebrick floor of the oven.
Old 08-16-2013, 02:22 AM
Serf

Default Re: Mortaring

I am not an expert in oven building, so also consider other suggestions. In my opinion you have to mortar it down since you need an air tight seal around the paremetar of the 1st chain.

I also have a question: How much mortar do you apply for the flooring?
How much joint space should be left on flooring (if any)? And the same question when doing the chain?
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCPizza View Post
Old 08-16-2013, 10:20 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

No, you don't need to mortar the chain to the floor. You don't need an airtight seal and the weight of the dome will hold the brick in place. You do need to mortar the bricks together on the sides. Shoot for a 1/8" joint spacing - but know that the gap will be wide at the back unless you are tapering your bricks.

Floor bricks should be pushed together as tightly as possible and do NOT use any mortar!!! Set them in sand/fireclay mix as per the instructions.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 08-16-2013, 11:25 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCPizza View Post
No need, it will break bond within the first couple firings.

Current WFO build -

When we build, let us think that we build for ever.
John Ruskin
Old 08-16-2013, 11:46 AM
Master Builder

Post Re: Mortaring

ditto stonecutter and DJ-sides only.
texman

Old 08-16-2013, 06:33 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toneer View Post
I am not an expert in oven building, so also consider other suggestions. In my opinion you have to mortar it down since you need an air tight seal around the paremetar of the 1st chain.

I also have a question: How much mortar do you apply for the flooring?