Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By brickie in oz

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2011, 01:40 PM
GianniFocaccia's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA
Posts: 1,443
Default Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

My dome is almost completed (last two courses and key) and I have started to think about vent/flue design and dimensions. I guess the common rule for fireplace flue size crosses over to WFO's: flue 10% of fireplace/door opening.
For my 39" Pompeii this would mean a round clay flue liner with an 8" inside diameter.

I know it is critical not to underflue a WFO so that it breathes properly and doesn't allow smoke out the front of the oven. Is it possible to build a vent and flue that draws too aggressively? Anyone run across this?

Thanks in advance.

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2011, 02:17 PM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

Ive never come across a flue/chimney that draws too aggressively.
Ive built lots of fireplaces and brick chimneys (they dont use flue liners here) with lots of different sizes and specs from owners and never seen this problem.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2011, 02:28 PM
GianniFocaccia's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA
Posts: 1,443
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

Thanks, Al.

I have trying to source an 8"id round clay flue liner here in SoCal, but was told this is not a common fireplace size therefore will be difficult to find. He did, however carry a 12" round clay flue tile that he was selling in 1' lengths at $25/per foot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2011, 02:31 PM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GianniFocaccia View Post
1' lengths at $25/per foot.
Thats expensive.

Couldnt you cast one from castable refractory concrete cheaper?
cnegrelli likes this.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2011, 05:40 PM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,759
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

I've seen plenty of ovens with flues that are inadequate in diameter or design. The evidence is the black sooty staining on the front of the decorative arch. With the front flue independent of the oven it is virtually impossible to over flue it because excessive draw will simply suck more air from the front rather than the fire. The other important design feature is decent funnelling into the bottom of the flue pipe or chimney. The Victorian house I grew up in had six fireplaces fitted with very tall chimneys and adjustable flue dampers to prevent excessive heat loss up the chimney once the fire was going well.

Last edited by david s; 07-08-2011 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2011, 08:46 AM
GianniFocaccia's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA
Posts: 1,443
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

Brickie,

You're right. The very next place I called quoted me $14 for each 1' section of 8x13", also from Superior Clay. I think a 55# bag of castable is around $70, and yes, I could form a killer vent mold with wood I have in the garage. A thought, for sure.

Thanks for the input, David. Makes sense that an aggressively-drawing flue would also draw from the front-side rather than suck the heat out of the oven. Now... what if the flue is too large and doesn't create the minimum pressure needed to keep the exhaust on track and going where it's supposed to go? Is this possible?

John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2011, 09:34 AM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Is it possible to 'over-flue'?

Just imagine the case of an oven with no flue, and that would equal too much flue, so the answer is NO, you can not over-flue an oven. A fireplace, yes, but the dynamics and requirements are different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cracked Flue davidL Tools, Tips and Techniques 3 04-20-2011 04:12 PM
Flue Design to Simple? timo Pompeii Oven Construction 4 07-10-2009 04:02 AM
Cracked chimney flue mfiore Pompeii Oven Construction 1 05-04-2009 02:35 PM
Chimney Flue Question RCANCILLA Modular Refractory Oven Installation 5 04-08-2009 07:47 AM
Flue Chimney Tips Alf Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 1 08-02-2005 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC