#1  
Old 06-07-2011, 07:58 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 48
Default Is a flue liner necessary?

I understand the role a flue liner plays in a residential fireplace chimney, but is it really necessary in an outdoor setting? I was thinking of just building a double wall chimney and capping it on the top with a piece of slate. Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2011, 01:04 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

That will work fine, it's just that a couple of lengths of 8" flue tile are MUCH cheaper than what you could build with firebrick.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2011, 01:08 PM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmun View Post
That will work fine, it's just that a couple of lengths of 8" flue tile are MUCH cheaper than what you could build with firebrick.
You dont need firebricks for a chimney, most chimneys are built using normal bricks.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:40 PM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,075
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

You do not need firebrick, but if you are going by code, you need flue liner. It is faster and cheaper to use flue than to build a double wall chimney, anyway. For my BBQ pit chimney, I just built single wythe brick, but the heat going up an oven flue is much higher, plus all the joints will make creosote buildup an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2011, 10:06 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,842
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Md's question had nothing to do with the type of brick - just a way to get it done. Dude, your approach to the vent will work. I would go with Davids suggestion of using a clay liner. They are inexpensive and readily available - worked for me.
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.

Last edited by Les; 06-08-2011 at 07:11 AM. Reason: Added verbiage so it made sense???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2011, 11:28 PM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les View Post
Md's question had nothing to with brick..
So now everyone has more knowledge.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by brickie in oz; 06-07-2011 at 11:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2011, 01:37 PM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 48
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

OK, I'll stop bucking the system now Clay flue liner it is.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2011, 12:19 PM
Cheesesteak's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca
Posts: 192
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmun View Post
That will work fine, it's just that a couple of lengths of 8" flue tile are MUCH cheaper than what you could build with firebrick.
Okay - I cannot get 8x8 square clay flue tile in may area. There's only 8" round clay flue tile - and the next smallest is 8x13 oval.

The 8" round is outside diameter - giving me an inside diameter of around 6".

Is that going to work?

I'd note that the 8" square clay flue liners from Superior are also outside dimensions . . .

thanks -
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2011, 09:09 AM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,075
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Round is better, 8" round should be fine. The (very rough) rule of thumb is 10% of the opening is the size flue required. Bigger is generally better, espcially with square or rectangular flues. So if you have an 18"wX16"H opening (288 SqIn), then a flue in the neighborhood of 28-30 SqIn is good. A 6" flue gives you 28.27 SqIn, so it should work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2011, 05:27 PM
Cheesesteak's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Folsom, Ca
Posts: 192
Default Re: Is a flue liner necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tscarborough View Post
Round is better, 8" round should be fine. The (very rough) rule of thumb is 10% of the opening is the size flue required. Bigger is generally better, espcially with square or rectangular flues. So if you have an 18"wX16"H opening (288 SqIn), then a flue in the neighborhood of 28-30 SqIn is good. A 6" flue gives you 28.27 SqIn, so it should work just fine.
My entry arch is 12" high, 19" wide. Here it is:



I figure I've got a 2.5" x 19" rectangle at the bottom of the arch, or 47.5 sq.in. and roughly 1/2 of a 9.5" radius circle, or 283.5 sq.in. / 2 = 141.75 sq.in. Total = 47.5 + 141.75 = 189.25 sq.in. opening in my entry arch. My 6" inside dia. clay flue is 28.27 sq.in which gives me a flue of approximately 15% of my oven opening. Sounds like that's more than sufficient . . .

Time to press on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ever have a terra cotta flue liner crack? Fio Pompeii Oven Construction 8 06-11-2010 07:11 AM
Cracked chimney flue mfiore Pompeii Oven Construction 1 05-04-2009 02:35 PM
Flue Liner ricflo Pompeii Oven Construction 1 09-21-2007 09:07 AM
Is a 4x8" flue liner too small for a 42" dia oven? vincentvintris Getting Started 1 06-01-2007 07:54 PM
Running Teracotta flue liner through the roof christo Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 5 04-17-2007 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC