#1  
Old 06-10-2012, 06:49 PM
deejayoh's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,381
Default Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?

I completed the flue on my oven today, and need some guidance on how to install the Duravent Anchor plate.

I have the plate mounted on a flat 12 x 12 square of firebrick splits with a (roughly) round 8" cutout for the chimney. The fit is pretty good.

I was planning to screw the plate to the firebrick using Tap-cons. I couldn't find stainless so am going with the blue ones.

But do I need a gasket, or any sort of caulk under the anchor plate? Or is it ok to screw it straight to the brick?
Attached Thumbnails
Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?-wp_000050.jpg   Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?-wp_000049.jpg  
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:09 PM
Laborer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wallingford, Vermont
Posts: 96
Default Re: Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?

I used the Selkirk SuperPro pipe and mounting plate. They recommend putting a 1/2" bed of refractory mortar under the plate (I used Heatstop 50); then you torque the fasteners until you get a small amount of squeeze-out, so you know there aren't any gaps. I left the raised bead of squeezed-out mortar in place around the plate as extra protection against leaks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2012, 09:34 PM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?

I used the Duravent plate and screwed it with tapcons,using a bead of Heastop 50 as the gasget in between.

RT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2012, 11:30 PM
deejayoh's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: Duravent Anchor Plate - Gasket required?

Two votes for mortar. thanks guys.

In the interim I dug out the (rather generic) install instructions from Duravent, and they suggest high heat caulk. I think that would probably not last given the heat from a WFO. But I do have refractory caulk on order to use for my heat break and may try that. I'll see what the texture looks like and go with either that or the mortar.

To be honest, afte getting this far with the oven, I am really tired of mortar
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Required density of fiberboard insulation WJW Finding Building Materials 74 01-15-2013 11:23 AM
DuraVent Transition blacknoir Getting Started 0 07-08-2009 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC