Old 06-21-2010, 01:34 PM
Peasant

Default Duratech Chimney through roof peak

Hi all,

I am contemplating how to finish my oven. I am leaning towards doing a full 'house' style enclosure to match my home. From the get go, I have wanted to use a Duratech chimney setup for easy and durability. In researching these items I am not sure how one would run the chimney through the roof. My oven and chimney are centered on stand and would be centered on the peak of the roof. In the Duratech line of products I don't see a flashing system for doing this.

Admittedly I have no experience with this sort of thing. Do I need ot build a box off the roof top and then flash the chimney to that? Or is there another method? Pictures of what you have done would be appreciated.

thanks
Old 06-21-2010, 01:51 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Duratech Chimney through roof peak

See Dino's post #377.
http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/8/di...s-5883-38.html (Dino's 42" Pizza Oven Starts)

He has a cad drawing that you can use or modify to your needs and I'm sure he'd be flattered to have it used.. Again.

Chris
Old 06-22-2010, 04:57 AM
Peasant

excellent, thanks to the both of you
Old 06-22-2010, 05:01 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

You need a double thickness flue pipe to prevent the unlikely possibility of setting fire to your roof from the hot pipe.
Old 06-22-2010, 05:21 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

DHS,

I used a Duratech system through a metal peaked roof:
http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/21/m...html#post30924 (My Old Kentucky Dome Enclosure)

I cut the roofing material to within 1/8" of the chimney then used high heat caulk to seal it. I'm sure it's not to "code" but has worked really well (so far!).

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Updated!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 06-22-2010, 04:11 PM
Apprentice

Hi DHS,