#1  
Old 12-03-2012, 12:41 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 200
Default Covering lumps with stucco?

I had originally envisioned finishing my oven with an enclosure, but now, in part for aesthetic reasons and partly for space and view-preservation reasons, I'm thinking of doing an igloo style as well. So I'm trying to figure out how to go about stucco.

My biggest puzzle is how to deal with the fact that the insulated dome is pretty lumpy. In particular I added an extra inch of blanket on the top because I had a scrap that was the right size and that seemed like the place that needed the most insulation. Can I fix this with stucco, by just adding more render to the low spots and less to the high spots?

I know one way of fixing lumps is to have a layer of vermicrete, but a) I don't feel like I need the insulation with 4-5" of blanket in most places, b) vermicrete sounds like a pain and most importantly c) I don't think I have enough room between the oven and my deck to apply vermicrete and stucco. How thin can you do vermicrete?

Related question: I tied down my blanket with rebar wire. If I were to add a bunch more rebar wire, would that be a substitute for chicken wire as a base for the render? Or rather, since I'm pretty sure that in theory the answer to that is yes, would the amount of wire required be insane and way too much work?

-Ryan
__________________
My build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by rsandler; 12-03-2012 at 12:47 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2012, 02:30 PM
deejayoh's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

I don't think you want to use chicken wire for your stucco. Get lath. Chicken wire will rust and it will eventually bleed thru your stucco. For the same reason, rebar wire is not going to work either.

As for the vermicrete - I don't think you need a coat of render, but there may be other opinions. AFAIK, you can apply your scratch coat right over your lath/insulation.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2012, 03:54 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,843
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deejayoh View Post
I don't think you want to use chicken wire for your stucco. Get lath. Chicken wire will rust and it will eventually bleed thru your stucco. .
You sure about that? I've seen a LOT of houses with wire nailed to the paper that get a stucco finish. I know from experience that forming the lath into a dome is like playing with a box of razor blades.
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2012, 05:11 PM
Gulf's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,637
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

I'm not a fan of forming chicken wire in to a dome shape either. I do agree that forming lathe into a sphere is tough. I used 1/2" galvanized mesh, cut in isoscles trapezoid shapes. But, I wouldn't recomend that either. I think it was David S. who recomended fiber reinforcement for complex curves on stucco.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2012, 05:40 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 200
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Leaving aside the question of how to provide a base for stucco (although I appreciate the input on that as well), my real question hear is how to get stucco to make a smooth dome shape on top of very lumpy insulation. Assuming that either my stucco was full of fibers or my wire/mesh/lathe base was in the shape of the final surface, can I just pile extra render into the low places without issue, or would that cause problems?
__________________
My build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:14 PM
Gulf's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,637
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

I woud use vcrete/pcrete to even out the lumps and valleys. (Not necesarily for insulation, just as a means of getting back to round) I used a rotating form to get back to a true sphere. Others have used just their eye to true it back up. From what I've seen of others builds who just used their eye, that technique works great
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:16 PM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,091
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Assuming blanket insulation, what you DON'T want to do is compress it. If I used blanket insulation and wanted to smooth it, I would would mix an 8 or 10 to 1 perlite/portland mix and use that to get the dome smoothed to an acceptable degree for final stuccoing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:47 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,843
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsandler View Post
my real question hear is how to get stucco to make a smooth dome shape on top of very lumpy insulation.
I went this route - http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/8/le...d-4207-21.html (Les' Build) #95

I then rendered it with standard mortar and covered it with an acrylic stucco that had my color.
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.

Last edited by Les; 12-03-2012 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2012, 07:00 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 200
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Sounds like vermiculite/perlite concrete is the way to go then. How thin can I make it in the "hill"areas without worrying about cracking, assuming an 8 or 10:1 mix like Tscarborough suggests?
__________________
My build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2012, 07:09 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,843
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

I don't think the vermiculite will crack since it's pretty much separated by nature. I went the rebar / wire route because I didn't trust putting anything on the blanket.
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breathable stucco render? waynespizzaworld Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 1 04-22-2012 10:01 AM
Weatherproof Stucco Dome that can be Moved Later?? WaWaZat Getting Started 13 07-06-2009 03:05 PM
stucco over exisisting smooth stucco michelevit Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 10 04-29-2009 05:27 PM
STUCCO-Part2: How Stucco is Made sarah h Tools, Tips and Techniques 2 06-28-2008 06:12 PM
STUCCO-Part 1: What it is sarah h Tools, Tips and Techniques 0 06-28-2008 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC