#1  
Old 01-29-2009, 03:13 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 3
Default Thermocouples - How and Where

OK so I'm off to build a new oven for a friend and...I wondered about using thermocouples and if anyone had any good tips.

I can pick up a cheap kit from ebay and just leave the wires trailing out of the side of the oven and plug the thermometer in when needed??

One in the dome and one in the floor?

How far into the brick etc etc etc?

Any comments greatly appreciated,

stan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2009, 04:15 PM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,844
Thumbs up Re: Thermocouples - How and Where

Hi Stan,
why do you want thermocouples?
Are you planning on cooking a lot of bread/multiple bakes?
Unless you plan on needing to know the hearth and dome temps just below the surface AND on the underside/outside of the brick (soak temps) for repeat bread baking, you will not use them after the first say 6 firings!!!! You normally use 2 in sta same location, ie. just below the brick surface and behind it on the outside of the brick (but under or in front of your insulation).
Get yourself a laser digital hand held themometer which is around or under US$100 will give you accurate temps +- 1˚C. If you fire your oven for 1 hour, then you won't have much soak (heat penetration and stored energy in the bricks) but if you fire for 2 hours and close the door to bake then you soak your bricks and yu are then ready for multiple bread bakes.
I have them, 6 in all, 2 in the hearth and 4 in the dome, with a switcher and digital readout and don't use them- in my circumstances as a home use, a waste of time and money!!!
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2009, 05:14 PM
Jed Jed is offline
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bend, Oregon; West Coast USA
Posts: 428
Default Re: Thermocouples - How and Where

Ya Hi Stan,

Like Neill, I think you missed the 'why' part of the question.

I didn't install the thermocouples (but I do use a point and shoot thermometer), and we don't hear to many people talk about using the thermocouple.

If I had them, I don't think they would add much in the way of real information the way I use the oven. If the oven is too hot, I wait a bit. If it is to cool, the cooking takes a bit longer... or if we are on pizza, add some more wood to the fire...

The point and shoot thermometer tells me what the temperature is inside the oven, and experience tells me if the brick are 'heat soaked' and will maintain the heat for any period of time.

So, I would advise not to spend the money on the thermocouple...

JED
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermocouple

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC