#1  
Old 07-11-2008, 10:56 PM
Laborer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 52
Default Insulation Question

Well Tomorrow I hope to complete my chimney....Get the walls completed on my oven so I will be ready to insulate. Then next week I have hired a carpenter to put on my roof.

A couple of questions.

1. I was planning to just fill the cavity with at least 6 inches of loose perlite. Does anybody think that will suffice?

2. No blanket or do people feel strongly regarding the blanket? Or no worries with the perlite?


Thanks GT.
Oven Progress.

Picasa Web Albums - George - George T's Pi...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:11 PM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,877
Thumbs up Re: Insulation Question

Hi George,
Filling your framework with loose perlite (of vermiculite equivalent) is a little wasted as the increased thickness will do little extra in insulation. You will need a lot of 'unused' or 'no value' insulation betwwen your walls and that perlite that is actuall insulating your oven. Also, I feel that it may ove time 'settle' and reduce the amount of insulation over your dome top.
The thermal blanket, although more expensive is a much better insulator per inch than loose perlite or vermiculite.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:41 PM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: Insulation Question

I would at least go with a 1" blanket then your loose fill perlite. I'm with Neill on this this one - over time there may be a bit of settling (hot /cold spots), having at least a minimal (1") blanket in direct contact with the dome will give you considerably more even heat retention in the dome. If money is not an object - 2 layers of 2" blanket is ideal...and you can throw the perlite in for good measure. I'm sure you are aware of the FB mantra - insulate, INSULATE, [B]INSULATE!!!

RT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2008, 03:59 PM
Laborer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Somers, New York
Posts: 74
Default Re: Insulation Question

Hi George

I just want to say this is a beautiful project. I just love how the entire family is into it. What are you planning for counter space?


--mr.jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2008, 04:27 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: Insulation Question

I used the blanket under perlite concrete, but if you have lots of room, there's no reason why loose fill won't work by it's self. You may want to block off the corners with cement board on an angle to cut off the amount of not-needed insulation in your cavity.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:05 PM
Laborer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 52
Default Re: Insulation Question

Thanks all. I am wondering if anyone has just done the loose insulation? Is their oven seeing performance that is not as good as those with the blanket?

My biggest challenge is just timing. If I order the blanket I am going to lose my carpenter......has some other work. Once this baby gets closed up my options are limited.

Mr. Jim. Thanks. regarding Counterspace we have a large patio and will likely keep an extra table near by that will be used for preping the food. Not elegant. It has been a great project for the family. My daughter, who is not pictured has done alot of material runs.

Last edited by George T; 07-12-2008 at 06:12 PM. Reason: grammer problem
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2008, 08:19 PM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,881
Default Re: Insulation Question

Adding water and cement to your insulation mix will reduce the insulation value so loose is an advantage and reduces labour. I don't use ceramic fibre blanket because the stuff is a class 2 carcinogen and I'm hoping to reach at least 90 if I can.6 inches of insulation sounds plenty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulation question....again 70chevelle Getting Started 8 07-10-2008 07:16 PM
hearth insulation question woods witch Getting Started 14 06-28-2008 02:30 PM
Insulation Blanket Question NanyukiTom Newbie Forum 5 12-31-2007 10:45 PM
Insulation Question waitingtocook Getting Started 2 02-20-2007 05:01 PM
Insulation question sonomacast Newbie Forum 2 08-12-2006 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC