Old 09-15-2009, 07:25 AM
Serf

Default Dome forms

Hello,
I am just beginning my oven building journey and would like any advise on how to build dome forms for a 42" oven. I have no masonry skills at all and figure that any type of support for the dome would be great. I just don't know how to go about figuring out how to build one. Any help would be great.
Old 09-15-2009, 11:15 AM
Laborer

Default Re: Dome forms

Hi, take a look at this thread if you haven't seen it already:

http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f28/...heme-2985.html (My indispensible tool (a variation on a FB theme))

I used a similar tool building a 36" pompeii and also found it "indispensible." It keeps the dome nice and hemi-spherical, and is an aid in cutting bricks as well if you go the route of minimal mortar joints. It allows you to set the brick in the mortar bed, maybe hold it for a few seconds until it grabs and then move on to the next one. The nice thing about building the dome is it is self supporting, at least until you get up to the higher courses. A good example of how to deal with that further on in that same thread.

I like this method because you can see exactly the fit you're getting inside of the dome and clean up any excess mortar as you go. There's nothing wrong with using fixed forms, a good example of this in the free e-book/pdf, available here if you don't already have it.

Brick Oven Plans | Build an Italian Brick Oven

Good luck and have fun!

Doug
Old 09-15-2009, 01:20 PM
Master Builder

I plan on using the above mentioned tool for my build as well but I'm curious about using a form. Which method is faster in erecting the dome for someone who's really pressed for time? Time might be an issue for me as I work over 70 hours per week, although I don't mind dragging the project for months.

Old 09-15-2009, 02:12 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

I built an elliptical dome and used Styrofoam as form. A 1/2 inch sheet of Styrofoam is all that is needed and is quite cheap.
Attached Thumbnails