#1  
Old 04-21-2010, 09:56 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 36
Default is 2" enough thermal mass?

Hello

The fire bricks I have are quite an unusual shape. The measure 8" x 9" x 2". I'm ready for a lot of cutting to make the dome

I'm ready to lay my hearth soon. But I'm concerned that 2" won't be enough thermal mass?

I can easily add some more 'mass' if need be?

Any advise will be appreciated

Thanks ... Mick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2010, 10:12 AM
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 942
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

I assume you're talking about the floor?
As far as the dome walls you can cut your bricks into quarters which will give you at least 4" in thickness.
__________________
George


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Weber 22-OTG / Ugly Drum Smoker / 34" WFO

Last edited by fxpose; 04-21-2010 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2010, 11:04 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 36
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

Yes I'm talking about the floor.

I've already started cutting them into 4 for the walls

Mick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2010, 11:38 AM
kebwi's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

Hmmm, that is 80% as thick as "normal" firebricks at 2.5". I'm unsure of the implications. If you can find a supply for "splits" you can lay down a half-thick layer first. Alternatively, depending on how much cutting you want to do (I did a lot, had no problem with it), you could dice your 8x9s into thirds and lay them down edge on. One axis would yield slightly under 3" (blade width costs you about 1/8" loss), the other axis would yield slightly under 2.67", which would be almost exactly 2.5", the standard thickness.
__________________

Website:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

WFO Webpage:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2010, 11:58 AM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

I would prefer a thicker hearth based on my experience. Unfortunately my experience is not with bricks so.... I fear that you will lose a lot of hearth heat to the pie and need to pull coals out periodically to recharge the hearth. Not a big deal necessarily and everyone (in my experience needs to do so occasionally (at least to get rid of a blob of cheese or sauce) but less often is better. I would encourage more mass.

Good luck!
Jay
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2010, 12:41 PM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 36
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

I am considering adding maybe and inch of refractory (damp mix) mortar and bedding them on that. I know it will make them hard to replace at a later date ... but I'll let my Gran-kids work that one out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:30 PM
DrakeRemoray's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

I think that the floor of the commercial ovens that forno bravo sells are thinner than 2"...So it could probably work. For retained heat cooking, I think the dome holds most of the heat. I think you would just have a fast heating floor...
__________________
My Oven Thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:51 PM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

Hi Drake!

The casa ovens have a floor that I recall as being about 1 1/2 inches but it is really heavy/dense and I think has higher heat capacity than brick so I think it holds more heat than bricks but I could easily be wrong. In my case I have my insulation below the slab so I have LOTS of mass to heat load.

Jay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is 2" enough thermal mass? mpjfitz Getting Started 3 02-22-2010 04:11 AM
Modular ovens and thermal mass ikhan42 Newbie Forum 15 11-29-2009 07:25 AM
Thermal Mass Musings JoeT62 Tools, Tips and Techniques 6 07-24-2007 10:22 PM
tandoor thermal mass Robert Musa Pompeii Oven Construction 11 09-15-2005 11:58 AM
Thermal mass arevalo53anos Pompeii Oven Construction 2 04-29-2005 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC