Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Getting Started

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 07:23 AM
Apprentice

Lightbulb The why in Foundations

Ok, after nearly two years away from this site after our house moving plans along with my brick oven ones came to a crashing halt, I'm looking to get re-started.
In about a week we will move to our new place and I've got a green light on oven building!
Now, my question. Which might be totally idiotic but bear with me, I am a Pilot not an Engineer for a reason
Ok, there is all this serious talk about foundations, and depths of concrete, and all that, BUT at the same time people are building ovens that are portable, or on steel frames, etc. So, what's the deal? Why is it so easy to put an oven on the back of a truck but if I want to build it in the corner of the yard it becomes more difficult?

BTW, I want a 42" dome style for my own. Do I really need to dig down to hard clay? Mind you I am just outside Beijing so if I dig too much I may end up in your backyard!

Thanks for you patience with my question,

Bob
Old 04-18-2013, 07:27 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: The why in Foundations

It depends upon soil, climate, code, and seismological conditions in your area. Here in sub-tropical Austin, outside city limits and no earthquakes in the last couple of hundred thousand years, a simple 4" lightly reinforced floating slab is all that is required, with nothing tying the stand to the slab and non-reinforced in any way.

10 miles north, the slab would be heavier reinforced, tied to the reinforced stand and hearth slab. In California, even more so. It just depends.

Mobile is another animal altogether, as they are not considered a structure.
Old 04-18-2013, 07:37 AM
Apprentice

Thanks T,