#1  
Old 08-06-2008, 05:25 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 8
Default Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

Is there a difference in using Quikrete instead of Portland? I plan on using Quikrete for all my insulating because I have a lot left over from my foundation. Will this give me enough strength?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2008, 05:28 PM
james's Avatar
Brick Oven Merchant
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 4,648
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

Quikrete is concrete -- a mix of Portland cement, sand and gravel (and a setting accelerator). But for your vermiculite concrete you want to use pure Portland cement (not concrete). Think of it this way -- when you make insulating concrete, vermiculite replaces the sand and gravel as the aggregate that you mix with Portland cement.

You can buy Portland cement by the bag at Home Depot and it isn't expensive.
James
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2008, 05:41 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

You will have lots of uses for your unused concrete mix (if that's what it is, they make several mixes) in this project. Vermiculite/perlite concrete needs portland.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:55 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 8
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

Ok so here is my next question...how bad is it if I already layed my insulating layer with quikrete? Is it going to hold the weight of my dome? Do I have to break it down and pour it with portland?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2008, 06:44 AM
Faz Faz is offline
Laborer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 56
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

The concern is that the presence of aggregate in the mix (assuming that it is a dry concrete mix rather than just a fast setting cement) will greatly reduce the insulating properties of the layer. If this is the case you can either remove and relay or maybe add a further insulating layer over the top, as long as that wouldn't make your oven too high.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:30 AM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,877
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRDeMeo View Post
Ok so here is my next question...how bad is it if I already layed my insulating layer with quikrete? Is it going to hold the weight of my dome? Do I have to break it down and pour it with portland?
It's bad.
Most heat is lost through the floor.

What was your mix ratio of quikrete to vermiculite?
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:25 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 8
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

I used 72 cups (18 4 cup scoops) to one 90lb bag.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:05 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NSB Florida
Posts: 29
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

At my home depot they sell ALL of the broken bags of concrete products for $4.10 - I do mean all - if they have six broken bags its just $4.10 TOTAL I used stucco on the outside of my last cooker and got two bags plus seven quick crete for $4.10 That stuff is $17 per here in FL. - what a bonus if you have a way to transport.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:24 AM
asudavew's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: san angelo, texas
Posts: 1,877
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRDeMeo View Post
I used 72 cups (18 4 cup scoops) to one 90lb bag.
I know you will hate to hear this.. but I think you need to redo it. Or form another insulating layer on top. I think what you have now will simply wick your heat out. And your firing times will be long, and your wood consumption will be high. It will cost you in the end.


The insulating layer should be 5 parts verm to 1 part Portland cement and just enough water to hold it all together. Mix the dry ingredients first, then slowly add water until you can just squeeze a little water out the mixture with a closed fist.


I have a 3.5 - 4 inch layer of the vermcrete under my oven, and I wish I would have built it up to 6 inches or more.

Just my opinion, but I'd hate to see you build an oven that is hard to use, under cooks the bottoms of your pizzas, and burns the tops.


Let us know what you do.

Dave
__________________
My thread:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My costs:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My pics:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:35 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NSB Florida
Posts: 29
Default Re: Using Quikrete instead of Portland?

While I am new to this site I am not new to the heat and insullation concept. Heat rises! I think that a firebrick bottom with any form of concrete base should work if the top is thick enough. The purpose of curved oven tops and in a fire place angled sides is to radiate heat. My own oven / smoker / grill has seven inches of foundation then firebrick on the bottom. I used full firebricks for the box with 4 or 5 inches of cement / vermiculite a layer of cardboard for expansion then solid concrete. My weakest link is I have an actual flue thats 13 X 17 for heat to escape. I have a way to neck that down or close it with firebrick. In about a month I will be able to try the oven. It is new and I don't want to crack anmything. Plus it is to hot outside (FL) Pictures posted yesterday
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ottawa Oven - Onward Once More! sarah h Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 60 08-04-2008 08:47 AM
STUCCO-Part2: How Stucco is Made sarah h Tools, Tips and Techniques 2 06-28-2008 06:12 PM
perlite -portland mixture for oven floor MIKIPAL Pompeii Oven Construction 14 10-28-2007 10:52 PM
Quicklime vs. portland cement plaster james Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 15 08-31-2007 11:26 PM
Hello all.......Oven questions rwiggim Getting Started 3 02-16-2007 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC