#1  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:30 PM
Ken524's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,650
Default Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Hello,

I've read about everything I can find that has been posted about thermocouples. Although I'm a geek and the idea of 4 or 5 probes sounds cool, I can't decided if I want to put in the extra time and expense to include them.

For those of you that have had your thermocouples installed for a while:

After you play with your oven for a few months does the usefulness of the thermocouples decrease? Are they something you use all the time or does the novelty wear off after you learn your oven?

Thanks,
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2007, 07:24 AM
jengineer's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Garden-A, South California
Posts: 572
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Mot sure about the other users but Canuck Jim uses his whenever he cooks. Then again he is doing Artisan Breads for paying customers and he can't eat his mistakes. being a virtual builder, at the moment, I was going to dump in some thermocouples because it satisfies the engineer in me. However I think that after 6 months I would probably not use it. I think a laser thermometer may be $$ better spent http://www.fornobravo.com/store/Infr...r-p-16155.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:11 AM
Ken524's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jengineer View Post
I think a laser thermometer may be $$ better spent http://www.fornobravo.com/store/Infr...r-p-16155.html
Thanks for the comments. I don't think a pizza or pot roast is going to mind a variation of a few degrees. I'm starting to lean in the direction of the Infrared Thermometer. It's nice that Forno Bravo has them for sale.

Time to head back out and start filling some block stand cores!
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2007, 04:24 PM
wlively's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spring Branch, TX 78070
Posts: 384
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Ken

I have three. I put them in mainly for the engineer geek in me as well. But, I would have to say if you don't really want to spend the money then don't. You get alot of good clues just from the color of the dome and feel of the heat on your hand/arm.

One suggestion however. If you are going to buy an IR gun, then make sure you get one with adjustable emmissivity. I got mine from Omega for $80.00 . That way you can also use it in the attic to check for leaks, around windows, on the car, airplane engines, ect.
__________________
Wade Lively
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2007, 06:41 PM
Ken524's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlively View Post
Ken
One suggestion however. If you are going to buy an IR gun, then make sure you get one with adjustable emmissivity. I got mine from Omega for $80.00 . That way you can also use it in the attic to check for leaks, around windows, on the car, airplane engines, ect.
Airplane engines... Hmmm... I'm convinced! I can't wait to take it work!

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2007, 08:48 PM
wlively's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spring Branch, TX 78070
Posts: 384
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken524 View Post
Airplane engines... Hmmm... I'm convinced! I can't wait to take it work!

Ken
Ken

I assumed you work for UPS, I guess I am right. I used to be a line mechanic at Delta, until the big lay-off in 94. The only airplane I work on now is the one that I am building, RV-8.
__________________
Wade Lively
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2007, 04:08 AM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default Re: Thermocouples - Are you still using them?

JE and all,

I installed four thermocouples during my build. For me, in the kind of baking I do, they are invaluable, because the baking characteristics of my oven vary considerably depending on the amount of heat stored in the mass. Yesterday, I baked Ancienne baguette in 4 minutes flat. It wasn't so much that the hearth was at 678 but that the slab read 450 and the cladding 520. That kind of stored heat sped everything up. Thermocouples are not necessary for everyone, but IR readings can be deceptive in certain situations, depending on the mass of the oven. I've baked bread with similar hearth readings but lower mass readings, and it takes quite a bit longer. It's true that you do get a feel for your oven over time, but thermos take out the guesswork.

Jim
__________________
"Made are tools, and born are hands"--William Blake, 1757-1827
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermocouples -- what to do? ihughes Tools, Tips and Techniques 18 11-18-2008 07:36 PM
Using thermocouples Versachi Getting Started 7 11-16-2007 05:25 PM
Thermocouples james Getting Started 3 07-15-2006 07:30 AM
Thermocouples? stuart Getting Started 0 04-14-2006 08:56 AM
LP Burner, Thermocouples and hearth insulation Yahoo-Archive Getting Started 1 03-21-2005 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC