#1  
Old 10-06-2008, 11:10 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 10
Default Thermocouple help

Hi folks,

I've been working on my pizza oven for the past month or so and am ready to pour the hearth. However, I would appreciate some advice on how best to install a thermocouple, as well as the suggested model to buy. I was planning to run some copper conduit through the hearth as I pour the concrete so I can easily run the thermocouple wire. Is this a good approach?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Caleb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:16 PM
rlf5's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston Area
Posts: 322
Default Re: Thermocouple help

I didn't make any provisions for my thermocouples. Rather, I just drilled the holes for them after I was finished.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:26 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 101
Default Re: Thermocouple help

I used stainless because of the heat exposure and resistance to corrosion. I've seen numerous discussion on Omega thermocouples, give it a search in the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:33 PM
dbhansen's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 563
Default Re: Thermocouple help

I am using model #TJ36-CASS-18U-6 from Omega, as recommended by one of their engineers. So far so good. I have one running through the hearth under the oven floor, and right now the wire runs along the bottom of my hearth (along the roof of the wood storage area) and then back up through the hearth to reach outside the oven. I think the conduit would be a great idea, as long as it doesn't weaken the hearth. I used two 1/4" copper tubes running vertically through the hearth, and they got bent all to heck. I had trouble getting the probe to fit through it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:53 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Thermocouple help

dbhansen,

Great photos and oven! Thanks for your feedback. Can you tell me about the interface with your oven bricks and the thermocouple tip? This looks like it could be a tricky maneuver.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2008, 03:34 PM
dbhansen's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 563
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caleb View Post
Can you tell me about the interface with your oven bricks and the thermocouple tip?
I'm not quite sure what you're asking, but basically the thermocouple probe extends through the concrete hearth (4"), through the insulation board (2") and about another 1.5" into the middle of a floor brick. The probe is composed of a stainless-steel sheath over (and bonded to) the two thermocouple wires, and the sheath is in direct contact with the brick. The thermocouple wires themselves do not touch the brick. The "U" in the product code stands for "ungrounded," which has something to do with the thermocouple/sheath interface, but don't ask me what! It was the recommended way to go.

Daren
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2008, 03:10 AM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,877
Thumbs up Re: Thermocouple help

Caleb,
unless you want to bake a host of bread, I wouldn't worry about using the thermocouples.
I put in several in the floor and the dome and don't use them at all. I fire the oven for between 2 to 3 hours getting it to over 500˚C (the limit of my laser thermometer) and cook pizzas, then breads and finally a roast lamb and sweats. The oven is still hot next morning even without good insulation on my doors (my next project).
I purchased a 10 station thermocouple switch from the UK, placed all the wiring copper conduit/tubing into the oven and it is all a waste really of time, money and effort.
Hendo has a posting with his thermocouples and I think at this stage that they will not be used. Sure he would have installed them but the family initially are not but they can when needs permit as they were designed to be accessible and their locations are together with cable access to a reader.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:58 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Thanks for your input Neill. I anticipate baking a lot of bread as am an avid, albeit, ametuer baker. I think I may purchase enough to have 2-3 thermocouples (2 in the floor, in the dome). Hopefully that is not too ambitious. I'm gathering my photos of the project and will keep the forum posted... its always good to pass along one's own experience.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:45 PM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,877
Thumbs up Re: Thermocouple help

Caleb,
you usually have 2 thermocouples together in specific areas of your oven, one to measure just below the hearth surface (or dome) and another at the bottom of the brick to measure the amount of heat retained (soak). I have 2 lots of themocouples in the floor and 2 sets in the dome. I can measure the centre of both at their surface and their soak to calculate (established through trial, error and experience) the amount of cooking I can achieve without a fire in the dome.
After you have used the oven for a period of time, you use the laser thermometer and experience more than the thermocouples. but by all means put them in, learn by them but don't spend a fortune on the equipment. The thermocouple wire is quite inexpensive but not so the reader. I got mine from my son for free so all up cost for my set-up was only around Aus$50.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2008, 08:57 PM
dbhansen's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 563
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Caleb, one option for a reader is an infrared thermometer that also accepts thermocouple inputs. Have your cake and eat it too, as they say. You can get one for about $100 or less.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BenjaMia Bakehouse Project SpringJim Outdoor Kitchen Design 79 07-11-2013 10:55 AM
Thermocouple design for oven maburton Tools, Tips and Techniques 24 08-04-2012 10:24 AM
1, 2 or 4 zone Thermocouple and Pyrometer james Getting Started 3 01-30-2008 08:50 PM
Using thermocouples Versachi Getting Started 7 11-16-2007 05:25 PM
Thermocouples james Getting Started 3 07-15-2006 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC