#1  
Old 06-14-2011, 12:11 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: waymart pa
Posts: 8
Default setting floor

can i use highheat mortor to set my over floor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:23 PM
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 394
Default Re: setting floor

Hi again,

The short answer is "no", don't use any mortar at all. You can bed the hearth with a 1/4" layer of refractory paste made from 50-50 mix of fire clay, silica sand and enough water to make it workable. This is the way many kiln and oven builders have done it and with great success. The 1/4" paste allows you to tamp the bricks to get an even hearth. Let it dry then proceed with your build.

Cheers,
__________________
Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No fireclay? Options for setting floor. Cheesehead Getting Started 6 05-17-2011 02:36 AM
Fireclay vs refractory mortar (for setting oven floor) Tenorio74 Finding Building Materials 12 01-06-2011 04:49 PM
setting oven floor ovenman Finding Building Materials 1 12-29-2010 06:25 PM
Setting the cooking floor Greg in RI Tools, Tips and Techniques 13 06-12-2010 11:49 AM
Setting floor tiles in salt? karl Getting Started 3 07-07-2008 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC