Old 06-11-2009, 06:35 PM
Laborer

Default Really need some help getting started

I hope I have come to the right forum, but I'm trying to build my own wood-fired oven from scratch. I have no background in building anything like this, so i'm trying to get all the details correct so my oven turns out properly. The question that I have is how large should I build my foundation slab so that my oven is big enough on the inside, and so that there is enough room to add insulation layers? I was planning on digging the hole for the foundation 6 feet wide by 6 feet deep. Is that big enough?
Old 06-12-2009, 02:06 PM
Serf

Default Re: Really need some help getting started

Hi Matt and welcome.
My advice is to download the ebook of instructions from this site and just keep reading this forum until you learn what it is you don't know. The people on here seem happy to help and there is heaps of info in the archives.
Just be aware that it can become addictive
Cheers
Ian
Old 06-12-2009, 04:16 PM
Master Builder

Ian is exactly right. Don't start digging until you've read thru the instructions. They tell you exactly how to determine the foundation slab size based on the size of oven you want. A 6x6' slab is about right, but again it depends on the oven size.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 06-12-2009, 04:16 PM
Master Builder

Hi Matt,

I would love to help a fellow Sacramentan get started. I started by downloading the oven plans from this sight, joining the forum, and went from there. This is a great place for questions before and during your build.