Old 06-30-2009, 12:20 PM
Laborer

Default Overkill?

I've just laid my 3" thick brick floor and I can't help thinking it's just too much thermal mass for what I'm going to use it for, cooking 1 - 6 pizzas and a baguette every now & then. For me I'd rather have an oven which heats up quickly than one capable of cooking 20+ pizzas in one firing.
Another thing is my oven is very small (31") due to space limitations.
I've got enough 2" thick bricks to re-do the floor tomorrow (and they're new bricks) - anyone think I should, or will I end up regretting losing that extra thermal mass?... surely 2" is plenty thick enough for what I need???

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 06-30-2009, 02:15 PM
Apprentice

Default Re: Overkill?

Perry,

Based on everything I have read so far, and I am by no means an expert...and somebody will probably contradict me, it doesn't seem like you are adding that much extra mass for the size oven you are building hence the heat up time shouldn't be increased by that much. You will probably hold heat longer though.

Peter
Old 06-30-2009, 02:25 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

I will jump in and contradict Peter.

You don't need extra mass in the floor and adding extra mass in the floor makes keeping the floor hot during cooking pizza more challenging. When people do add extra mass, they tend to add it in the dome (as I did). If it is not a big deal, I would use the thinner bricks for the floor.

Drake

Old 06-30-2009, 03:39 PM
Apprentice

All righty then...xtra mass in the floor bad, extra mass in the dome good...I stand corrected and my apologies

Peter
Old 06-30-2009, 04:02 PM
Il Pizzaiolo