#1  
Old 03-26-2010, 12:37 PM
texman's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 587
Default Texman Kitchen

Hey everybody

This is my first post. I have attached a picture of my site for the new kitchen and pizza oven. The blue tape in the pic is the rough outline of the kitchen counters and a corner oven.

The existing slab has about 3" of fall to deal with. My thinking is that I would pour concrete on top of the existing slab to level the areas for the oven base and counter footprints. I am estimating 50 ish bags of sacrete. So I am wondering if there is a better way.

I also plan to cover the area since it is next to house and gets roof runoff into the area.
Please give me comments, suggestions, advice and encouragement
Attached Thumbnails
New project-existing slab question-outdoor-kitchen-008.jpg  
__________________
My Progress:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by texman; 04-02-2010 at 09:36 AM. Reason: change thread title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2010, 06:51 PM
Millstone Man's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 160
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Welcome aboard texman. You could just cut your brick/block to get it square and level and leave your pitch for drainage as you will still need it. A little more work on the cutting but less than pouring 50 bags of concrete. You would want to make sure all the water has a way off the patio.

If you decide to pour an overcoat, look into a mix that is designed for overlaying on existing concrete and use a bonding agent to get it to stick better. Good luck and welcome from a fellow Texan. - Scott
__________________
Scott -

My projects:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2010, 10:13 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,842
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millstone Man View Post
You could just cut your brick/block to get it square and level and leave your pitch for drainage as you will still need it.
Agreed. My thought was to rip the bottom course of block to get level. After I looked at your situation, you may get back to grade by using larger mortar joints on the fall side. Either approach you take, I would not pour concrete to get a level surface - it's not required here.

Welcome to the obsession - it's a great time.

Les...
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2010, 08:48 AM
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 942
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Nothing to add here but that's a great looking corner for your oven and kitchen.
__________________
George


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Weber 22-OTG / Ugly Drum Smoker / 34" WFO
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2010, 08:50 AM
GianniFocaccia's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Disneyland, CA
Posts: 1,440
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Tex,

Welcome! Looks like a great project, and I love the curved counter.

Have you considered covering the patio first? It appears that any runoff might collect and pool around the inside of your counter, and the shade benefits of a cover goes a long way, not to mention the advantage of lights for night work.

Looking forward to seeing your project take shape.

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:15 AM
texman's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 587
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

thanks for the advice. Cutting bricks sounds much better than sacrete.
I have looked at numerous projects here. Some dry stack the blocks and then fill the cells, some mortar the joints as they build. Are both acceptable?
also, should i start the block laying at the lowest point and cut the blocks as i work up the slab? i.e. use a full block at the lowest point and then cut from there? probably doesnt really matter i think.

How about the rebar reinforcment? should i just drill the existing slab and mortar the vertical rebar? every two feet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2010, 03:27 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Quote:
I have looked at numerous projects here. Some dry stack the blocks and then fill the cells, some mortar the joints as they build. Are both acceptable?
Dry stacking is easy. If you have no prior block laying experience do it that way. I mortared up a bunch of block and it took till the end of the project before half my mortar didn't end up down the block cavities. If you are comfortable laying block, than by all means go for it.
Quote:
should i start the block laying at the lowest point and cut the blocks as i work up the slab? i.e. use a full block at the lowest point and then cut from there? probably doesnt really matter i think.
Right you are. Either way, or split the difference should work fine.
Quote:
How about the rebar reinforcment? should i just drill the existing slab and mortar the vertical rebar? every two feet?
I really don't think you need to do this unless you are in an earthquake zone. Everyone else just stacked, and filled every second or third cell stack. On the other hand there's nothing wrong with tying your slabs to your stand. This one will work either way.

As you are perhaps learning, there is a lot of leeway on this project.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2010, 05:48 PM
texman's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 587
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Thanks dmun
got my electrical extended today. i had an old 220v dryer disconnect that is not being used. So that is my electrical for the new kitchen. I split it to two 110v circuits and am adding a ground rod just to be safe. Hopefully add a hot water hosebib for the sink tomorrow. Trying to get the utility stuff ready before starting the blocks.
Is there any reason that the block should be against the existing brick of the house?
I planned to run the electric in conduit and a gas line for grill in a 1" gap between block and existing brick. I am thinking the coutertops will either be flagstone or concrete which will hide the gap between block and brick wall. Any problems there?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2010, 05:59 PM
Les's Avatar
Les Les is offline
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 2,842
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

Quote:
Originally Posted by texman View Post
Is there any reason that the block should be against the existing brick of the house?
Not at all - they are all pretty much free standing.

Les...
__________________
Check out my pictures here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2010, 01:50 PM
Neil2's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: New project-existing slab question

If you are building on an existing slab, you may want to consider a construction joint around the perimeter of the new works.

The additional weight will cause some settlement. This settlement may be slight but will almost certainly cause cracking in the slab. The construction joint will control where the cracking occurs.

You can form the joint by using a straight edge and a thin cutting wheel on an angle grinder. For concrete, cut about 1/4 to 1/2 inch deep.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete slab question fxpose General Building and Construction 185 04-02-2010 10:12 AM
Foundation slab over existing concrete? Dancing Bear Getting Started 19 11-18-2008 06:26 AM
new project - question 1 - stone slab? sakitome Newbie Forum 8 10-22-2006 05:34 PM
New hearth slab design question DrakeRemoray Pompeii Oven Construction 6 04-24-2006 01:42 PM
Question about isolated hearth slab Alan Getting Started 26 07-21-2005 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC