Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Getting Started

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2014, 01:31 PM
Peasant

Default New build in SW Arizona

Having had my first wood fired pizza only a few months ago in Sedona Arizona, I just knew I had to build a WFO. I bought a few books on the subject (probably use the pages to start my first few curing fires LOL), and then stumbled upon the Forno Bravo site and this forum. Personally I really think that this could be more aptly titled the "WFO Bible and Discussion Group", as the wealth of knowledge, expertise, and mostly trial and error wisdom contained in this forum are far superior to ANYTHING else I've found!
I've been an avid bread baker for the past few years, and initially wanted to build a barrel vault, but the Pompeii design I feel is far superior.
25 years ago I built a small smokehouse for smoke curing my own meats and sausages, so when my wife gave me the green light on the WFO, I decided to incorporate a CMU smokehouse into my design with integrated firebox. NCman is sending me his hand me down IT and I've developed a brick angle cutting jig, based upon the one I've seen here that I will post some pics of later. Again just a big THANK YOU to all forum posters, moderators and anyone else who has put their ".02" in. It helps, is appreciated, and I for one am damn glad you're here! Hope top start laying out my floor this weekend!!

Last edited by jeffrorrt; 07-26-2014 at 09:10 AM. Reason: typo
Old 07-25-2014, 03:22 PM
Journeyman

Default Re: New build in SW Arizona

welcome! good call on the Pompeii versus barrel. My wife makes bread and she easily uses the Pompeii oven for that. Much harder (but possible) to use a barrel for one minute pizzas.
Old 07-25-2014, 04:33 PM
Journeyman

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrorrt View Post
, I decided to incorporate a CMU smokehouse into my design with integrated firebox.