Old 03-24-2009, 07:09 PM
Serf

Default Foundation

I'm just getting started on my backyard kitchen which will include an oven such as the Casa 80. I live in upstate NY with very cold winters. Should the slab be built on footers 3-4 feet deep below the frost line or will a 6 inch slab with rebar on compressed gravel be sufficient. Thanks
Old 05-28-2009, 10:44 AM
Peasant

Default Re: Foundation

I, too, would like to know what the wisdom of the forum has to say about this. We live in Rhode Island and have the same issues.
Old 05-28-2009, 11:09 AM

Quote:
Should the slab be built on footers 3-4 feet deep below the frost line or will a 6 inch slab with rebar on compressed gravel be sufficient.
Either plan will work. If your gravel bed is well drained you shouldn't have any frost heave issues. I built one foot thick footings three feet deep, but i was building a two story chimney. If your chimney isn't much taller than you are, the slab-on-crushed-rock plan is fine.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 05-28-2009, 02:35 PM
Master Builder

Try some searches on the forum for "frost heave" or "foundation" and you'll find lots of discussions about this. Here's a good one: Link (Foundation and a cold Canadian winter)
A lot of it depends on the local weather and soil conditions. If you can get good drainage, then go for the gravel/slab. You might also want to check with local builders and see what they recommend.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by dbhansen; 05-28-2009 at 02:37 PM.
Old 05-28-2009, 06:01 PM
Peasant