#1  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:21 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1
Default Footings?

I'm in the initial stages of planning my oven. I was talking to a friend and he wanted to know if I'd be putting footings in with my slab. What are your thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2012, 08:22 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 235
Default Re: Footings?

It can be more an issue of your local soil conditions than preference. Quite a few of us go with slab on grade. For instance, my oven sits on a six inch slab with no footings. However, I'm in Arizona where the ground is hard as rock. If the soil were unstable, I would dig down to terra firma and set a footing or piling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dmun's 36" geodesic oven dmun Pompeii Oven Construction 158 01-16-2014 10:58 AM
About to break ground - a few questions... please help mensrea Getting Started 7 10-06-2011 05:52 AM
Need For Footings Or Slab Wood fired oven workshops Getting Started 1 10-02-2008 06:12 PM
Need For Footings Or Slab gilslater@mac.com Getting Started 2 08-07-2008 07:02 AM
Confused on footings??? fullback66 Getting Started 26 11-22-2007 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC