Old 09-21-2011, 02:51 AM
Serf

Default Design Help

Hi All

Im just getting started building a wood oven.
I am doing it on a tight budget and using materials i can get through contacts at work cheap.

My base is going to be made out of railway sleepers, 9 x 5, with Reinforced bar going through them to keep them all secure.
On top of them will be a line of sleepers giving a 5inch slab. On top of those will be Paving slabs, 2 inch thick. Then Thermalite bricks as an insulating layer between the oven floor and the slabs.
I am purchasing a premade cast oven that will need insulating and rendering on the outside.

However, i would like enclose the oven in and insulate with loose Vermiculate/Cermaic Fibre blanket.

My question is, i dont want to brick lay on top of the slabs/sleepers base due to weight. However i am handy with timber and have the means and skills to construct a nice looking timber "house" surround for the oven.
In this i can pour in the insulation and construct a roof.
Do you think that the heat passing from the oven will be low enough through all the insulation so that the timber will not be affected?
If it will only get warm then that is ok. I just dont want it burning down!
Old 09-21-2011, 04:21 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Design Help

These things get very hot - over 1000 F. Often hot coals will pop out the opening.

I would serious re-think using timber anywhere in the structure.
Old 09-21-2011, 04:36 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Design Help