Old 12-29-2008, 08:54 PM
Serf

Default Barrel/Arch type oven design

I built an igloo style oven for my brother over the summer that is 4' round, it's an outside oven that works great. I just purchased a new house that has a center fireplace and chimney. The fireplace is in a niche and is not desireable and smokes because they bent the throat too much. The back of it backs up to the kitchen so I thought I would take it out and put a little brick oven in the kitchen instead. I am a mason by trade and decided to build an arch type oven. I am limited on width but not depth. Does anybody have any measurement considerations on a small oven? I have about 29" to work with. Thanks in advance.
Old 12-30-2008, 05:42 PM
Master Builder

Default Re: Barrel/Arch type oven design

I don't see any reason why you couldn't scale it down to fit that space...is the 29" in regard to width or depth?
Best
Dutch
Old 12-31-2008, 05:47 AM
Master Builder

I'm sure you can do it, particularly with the masonry skills.

Is that an ID or OD you're talking about?

CJ has a barrel oven and builds, he might have some references. Just find CanuckJim on here and send him a private message as I haven't seen a lot of him lately.

Post some pictures and start a post here to keep us informed...we'd love to follow your project!
Old 12-31-2008, 06:16 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

JRM,

Your width limitation is very tight in light of the fact that you'll have to factor in the thickness of any mass you want to add over the dome bricks and the thickness of your insulation. The mantra here is that you can never have too much insulation. In your case, it looks like you'll have to go as high tech as you can so you'll end up with maximum floor width inside the oven. Why not contact me via email about this. We can trade some tips.

Jim
Old 12-31-2008, 01:57 PM
Serf

My width is 30" and my depth is 42".
Old 12-31-2008, 02:02 PM
Serf