Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Getting Started

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By irelande5

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 12:47 PM
Serf

Default Advice on buying firebricks

Hi, I'm totally new to brick ovens, I am gathering supplies right now and then I'm just going to jump into it and get started. It seems like 200 Firebricks will be good (I'm hoping) to make the firing chamber. Anyways, I found this guy who will sell me 4x9 firebricks for $.63 a brick. I'm not sure, but I thought this was a really good deal. Should I just buy like 400 of them instead of 200. Is it beneficial or possible to do a double layer of fire brick? Any advice is helpful. Thank you.
Old 07-25-2012, 05:39 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Advice on buying firebricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDERRICK View Post
Hi, I'm totally new to brick ovens, I am gathering supplies right now and then I'm just going to jump into it and get started. It seems like 200 Firebricks will be good (I'm hoping) to make the firing chamber. Anyways, I found this guy who will sell me 4x9 firebricks for $.63 a brick. I'm not sure, but I thought this was a really good deal. Should I just buy like 400 of them instead of 200. Is it beneficial or possible to do a double layer of fire brick? Any advice is helpful. Thank you.
4x9x??? if these are splits you will need more bricks. The floor should be 2.5 thick or thicker to retain enough heat. The dome will be about 4 inches thick if you use half bricks and that is thick enough if well insulated.

The thicker you make your dome and floor the more wood it will take to heat saturate the structure. I get great heat retention but I am very well insulated (floor and dome) and used two heat breaks and a heavily insulated door.

if you are looking at baking bread regularly a thicker dome and floor may be beneficial. but if you are doing pizza and general cooking then standard practice should apply.