#1  
Old 02-21-2010, 08:21 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 36
Default is 2" enough thermal mass?

Hello

The fire-bricks I am using to build the hearth and dome are quite unusual in shape. They measure 9" x 7.5" x 2". They come from night-storage heaters and a cost effective alternative here in the UK. I've been collecting them for over a year so far and they haven't cost me a penny I have plenty, and could build the dome using the 2" side on the internal face of the dome. Yes, that will mean a lot of cutting and many layers, so I wanna avoid that.

My question is: if I use the bricks in such a way that I have a 2" thickness to the walls and hearth. Will that be enough thermal mass to keep the oven hot?

I appreciate the oven will heat up quicker if it's thinner. But I'm not really concerned if I need to leave the fire roaring for longer. I can easily add more thermal mass by rendering the dome. The hearth will be different and I'll need to think that one out

Thanks in advance

Mick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2010, 10:35 AM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

My dome is two and a quarter inches thick, with no outside rendering, and it works fine.

It's a lot of work to build one that thin, and it's not as strong as a thicker dome, but I don't think it's inherently too thin. After all, that's how thick all the modular ovens are.

I don't think, from experience, that there is any real heat-up time advantage to a thinner oven.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2010, 06:11 PM
Neil2's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

4 or 5 inches is more typical. Do you have enough for two layers ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 05:11 AM
Peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cheshire UK
Posts: 36
Default Re: is 2" enough thermal mass?

If I cut the bricks and use the narrow side (2") on the inner edge I still have enough bricks. That will give me about 4" thickness to the dome. It's gonna take a load more layers/rows and more cutting . But there's no rush
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modular ovens and thermal mass ikhan42 Newbie Forum 15 11-29-2009 08:25 AM
Bread vs. Pizza -- Thermal Mass? UnConundrum Getting Started 11 06-29-2009 09:33 PM
Thermal Mass Musings JoeT62 Tools, Tips and Techniques 6 07-24-2007 11:22 PM
tandoor thermal mass Robert Musa Pompeii Oven Construction 11 09-15-2005 12:58 PM
Thermal mass arevalo53anos Pompeii Oven Construction 2 04-29-2005 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC