Old 05-23-2011, 04:20 AM
Serf

Default advice needed on insulation

please give me advice when building an oven is the insulation a necessity or could you use two or even three layers of brick instead,,, i like sharp lines and it seems when people use insulation you get a more fred flinstone look.. your advice will be appreciated,, i am a bricklayer by trade
Old 05-23-2011, 08:36 PM
Laborer

Default Re: advice needed on insulation

Welcome Aussie Bricky!

Maggie Beer comments about the lack of insulation in her oven in the forward of Russell Jeavon's book "Your Wood Oven" and how hindsight is a wonderful thing.

From what I can see if it done right, fixing the FB insulation blanket appropriately with chicken wire will stop the "Flintstone Effect".

What type of oven are you building? Started yet?

Make sure you post plenty of pics to keep us up to date.

All the best with your build.

Bert
Old 05-23-2011, 09:50 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie bricky View Post
i like sharp lines and it seems when people use insulation you get a more fred flinstone look.. your advice will be appreciated,, i am a bricklayer by trade
Yaba daba do Barney.

Heres one I prepared earlier.

Cheers, Fred
Attached Thumbnails
advice needed on insulation-roof5.jpg  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 05-24-2011, 02:05 PM
Laborer

Hi Aussie Brickie!