Old 12-01-2009, 09:34 AM
Apprentice

Default Vendors in Seattle

I'm only getting started with things, so don't know where to get everything from but here is a starter list for those in the Seattle area.

Masonry/Brick Supply:
I-XL Masonry | Redmond, WA
Mutual Materials in Bellevue

I purchased my bricks from I-XL for $1.16/each. I had also called Mutual Materials and they where ~$1.35 and did not offer to price match. (I-XL also sells a pre-fab pizza oven kit. They have one setup in the warehouse they will show you if your interested.)

Tools:
Harbor Freight in Bellevue - Got my wet saw, stand, blades

Perlite/Cement:
Home Depot in Seattle - they carry 4 CF bags of Perlite

Insulation:
Seattle Pottery Supply - they sell Insblock and other refractory materials
Old 12-01-2009, 09:45 AM
Apprentice

Default Re: Vendors in Seattle

Oh - and almost forgot my favorite store of all:

Pizza & Italian supplies:
Big John's PFI - Great selection of canned tomatoes, cheeses, pasta, bulk spices, etc. Just picked up a 50lb bag of Caputo for $38 this weekend. They are kind of a hole in the wall and hours are not convenient but one of my favorite food stores in Seattle.
Old 12-01-2009, 11:07 AM
Apprentice

Dick's Restaurant Supply in SODO is good for peels and brushes.
Old 12-01-2009, 11:37 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Neither the Home Depot nor the Lowe's on I-99 just south of 130th have the large bags of perlite or vermiculite...to the best of my knowledge. Your link is to another location of course. I'm just pointing it out.

BTW, is it "large" perlite, or the stuff that looks like laundry detergent, very small and fine?

I also bought my bricks from I-XL ($1.15 at the time). Be aware that you will get a mix of brick hardnesses from I-XL. The dark ones are much harder than the light ones. Whether they would be classified as medium vs. heavy I don't know. I like the color variation actually. I think it's really attractive.