Old 05-01-2014, 12:14 PM
Serf

Default And so it begins...

Hello, just signed up - I'm starting a 36" Pompeii oven...
I will add pics as I go along (since I feel I benifit looking at the pics of others)
I've got no real background in building stuff, so am a little tentative.
But - this forum seems most helpful, so... First question:

I am planning to order 185 standard fireplace fire bricks (9” x 4.5” x 2.25” @ $1.23 each - deformation temp 2754F) and refractory mortar - which comes premixed in a 55lb tub for $63.10. Will two tubs (110lbs) of refractory mortar be enough, or should I get three? The supplier (BC Bricks) says you can lay about 115 bricks with one tub - but that may not account for the rounded shape of the oven?

I live on an island and have to have supplies sent over to me from the mainland on a barge - getting the wrong stuff, or running out and needing to get more would be an awkward, time consuming and expensive undertaking. So I just want assurance me that I'm getting the right amount of the right stuff.
Old 05-02-2014, 04:03 PM
Apprentice

Default Re: And so it begins...

Hi DBinnema,
You are right on the money. I'm not a mason, but I did some maths for you.
My math says that 100 bricks are going to fit into your oven, so 185 is pretty good, you know, you will be spoiling some bricks here and there, and it's your call. If you can pay for 185, why not? I'll not encourage you to buy less than 185 but I will not recommend to buy more.
As for mortar, I did the math too for the rounded shape, I'm not sure, all I know is that you need about 1000"^3 of (mortar mixed with water and ready for mortaring) Ask your supplier what the volume of the ready mortar is. It should be more than 1000"^3 i.e 17L, make them 20L just in case.
As for the right material, I reckon you are purchasing the right stuff. You must be as generous with insulation too.