Old 03-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Serf

Default Pigs (or hogs) in ovens

Hi Folks. Not sure where to post this , but as i'm a newbie this looks a good spot. I am trying to work out how to build an oven with another chamber alongside which I can use for Hog roasting-- or cooking a whole Pig-- we have a 'Barn' venue here where we entertain / feed lots of people in one go and need to cook a whole pig to cater for this , I am aware it will take 6-8 hrs to cook , not a problem, but how do i build it?
My thoughts are to have a standard oven with a door off the dome to let the heat into another chamber - barrel vault type of thing big enough for a small Pig.
Has anyone tried this ?
Old 03-10-2009, 12:08 PM
Serf

Default Re: Pigs (or hogs) in ovens

i do pigs about 225lb. not in my oven but usr 275 gallon barrel.the spit is a stainless rod that i sucure pig with chicken wire. cool thing is reduction box, toyota transfere case added pully and chain electric motor.. works great, but not 5,6 hrs more like 24 hrs.i also use charcoal from oven for heat. the bottom ov barel is lined with firebrick to help hold heat and save barrel. be well tom
Old 03-10-2009, 01:52 PM
Serf

Thanks Tom . We have done most of them before with a gas oven, but I wanted to do something more interesting, One was cooked using a wood fire with a corrugated / wriggly tin affair! and used a tractor pto shaft to turn it from an electric motor. It worked ! But took 12 hrs to cook.
Old 03-10-2009, 03:03 PM
Journeyman

Get one of these bad boys and you will not look back.

La Caja China Box - Superb Pig Roasting BBQ Grills and Smokers
Old 03-10-2009, 03:25 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

I can second the Caja China...an excellent, foolproof, device.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 03-10-2009, 03:59 PM

Xabia Jim has done suckling pigs directly in the oven - shouldn't be too much different than cooking a turkey or other large roast.