Old 05-29-2012, 03:53 AM
Serf

Default New member Canberra Australia

Just by introduction I have attached a photo of my dodgy oven. I made it from castable cement, still getting hang of it but it is great fun. Survived the Canberra winter and frost minus 3degress Celsius and the 40 degress heat of summer. Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
New member Canberra Australia-img_0321.jpg  
Old 05-29-2012, 04:25 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: New member Canberra Australia

Gudday and welcome
Could you tell the forum a little bit more of you construction there are a few in "Aust" and the world that could draw on your experience

Regards Dave

My Build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Door

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 05-31-2012, 03:46 AM
Serf

Thanks Cobbler Dave, as a master builder I may not meet your professional standards. But in short, the frame is a basic 900mm high, 1000m square, I used Hebel blocks as a heat sink, 50mm solid pavers as a base. I used a polystyrene box and used sand to form the inner cavity of the dome. I then used layers of castable cement mix and 3mm insulation blanket to form the dome. Extra layers of cement and and a 90mm galvanised chimeny. Mistakes many, a few failures but 'ave a look at Workshop Outline Alan is the master!
Old 06-01-2012, 12:59 AM
Master Builder

Welcome mitdav...... It's a bit like a bug that gets you.
Early days I mocked up a temp fireplace with some hebel blocks to cook better damper
Then it was wanting better pizza
So I built a budget oven
Which made good bread and did a roast
Now I want to make better breads and roasts so oven number 2 is started.

I think others might agree...... Our inquisitiveness drives our building and perfection is something discovered along the way
Or
Maybe we just want to play with fire

Old 06-01-2012, 02:21 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Gudday mitdav