Old 05-17-2008, 04:08 PM
Serf

Default New guy in Nashville

Hello,

My name is Rowland and i am just getting started here on this forum. Looks great and i can't wait to learn more.

SO a little background info for you. I am a baker by trade, while i love my job its pretty mundane. I am also a member of a medieval education center in Columbia TN. One of our projects is a period bread oven.

None of us are masons and as this is a non-profit group, the money will come out of our pockets. So whatever i am going to come up with has to be fairly easy to build and fairly easy on the wallet.

I would want the oven to be big enough to bake a decent amount of bread (say 30 loaves a day). However my biggest concern is the oven would only be used every so often. At most the oven would only be fired 5-10 times a year (give or take).

I have not really decided on a style yet but doing a little research first.

nice meeting you guys and look forward to learning lots from you.
Old 05-17-2008, 05:00 PM
Master Builder

Default Re: New guy in Nashville

I am not too far from you in North Mississippi...
Hope to be of assistance!
Best
Dutch
Old 05-17-2008, 06:46 PM
Master Builder

as ciberspace goes, I'm just next door too!

Welcome to the Forum!
Old 05-17-2008, 09:45 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Welcome!

That's a lot of work for only 5 -10 firings per year. You might consider a bit of reseach to see if there's another WFO close by that you could use as necessary for your own purposes. Bring your own firewood - I don't think the owner would have major issues with you pre-heating the oven for him/her while you did your own baking.

-
Old 05-17-2008, 10:35 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Thumbs up Re: New guy in Nashville

Hi Rowland,
welcome to the forum.
my 40" pompeii oven is always available for use. I am always keen to observe a trademan prtacticing his skills, especially ones that I need improvement in.