Old 07-17-2011, 07:00 AM
Peasant

Default A big hello from Green Bay

I have an oven underway, currently to the vermiculite layer on the hearth. Looking forward to the interaction on this forum. What a great way to share information. I am a steamfitter and welder by trade so this brick and mortar thing is a bit challenging . I do have a problem listed in the "Newbie section" in that fireclay is not available in Green Bay, Orco set seems to be the thing of choice. Do I need an alternitive to set my floor on. This stuff is expensive.
Old 07-17-2011, 08:48 AM

Default Re: A big hello from Green Bay

"can't get fire clay" is a common complaint. They don't stock it at the big box stores. You can get it at your local brickyard or masonry supply, or if they can't get it you can try the refractory suppliers where you get your refractory insulation, or a pottery supplier. It comes in fifty pound bags, and it's cheap.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-17-2011, 11:03 AM
Peasant

We don't have any refractory suppliers. I found one guy in Appleton selling a type of fireclay for $139 for 50lbs. The pre mix buckets seem to be all I can get. These are really nice brick yards too. Two out of the three told me the last fireclay they had went bad on the shelf and they never reordered it. The refractory insulation I have to order that too. the only supplier in town wanted $239 for 25' of 2". This seems insane.
Old 07-17-2011, 12:27 PM
Journeyman

HummerGB,

Search for the "fire clay" by another name. Printed on the bag I had were the words "Masons Clay" I've also heard it referred to as "mortar clay".

Cheers,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 07-17-2011, 02:09 PM
Peasant

Okay I am going to hit the brickyards up agian tomorrow. I'll have to expand out to surrounding cities. Thanks
Old 07-17-2011, 08:26 PM
Master Builder