Old 09-18-2012, 05:56 PM
Serf

Default Pour two slabs at once?

Hi all,

I'm hoping to pour here in the next few weeks, thanks all for participation on this forum, it's invaluable!

Here's a thought. I'm considering a truck pour in a few weeks. How outrageous would it be to have the foundation slab _and_ hearth base poured at the same time?

I'm planning to frame the hearth base, resting it on 4 x 4s on the ground nearby, where I'll screed, finish, level and cure......A couple (?) weeks later I'll use my front end loader to web sling it onto my block supports?

It'd be a gentle operation but I feel it could be done properly and safely with a few extra bodies....

I see a possible savings of several hours and it takes advantage of having the truck in place.....once....., as a newbie I should ask: ."...what am I missing here?"
Old 09-18-2012, 08:38 PM
Master Builder

Default Re: Pour two slabs at once?

The perlcrete mix is a little strange to work with but it may be possible. Better have the first slab well supported.
Old 09-19-2012, 12:33 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

As long as you have the lift, it sounds like a practical project. I would pour the support slab with 90 degree bends in the rebar (pointing down) around the perimeter. This way when you lower your slab onto your blocks the rebar drops into the top-most concrete-filled course.
Old 09-19-2012, 01:21 AM
Master Builder

Why not pour it in place?
Old 09-19-2012, 02:06 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomweb View Post

I see a possible savings of several hours
...what am I missing here?"
Your going to risk your build for a couple of hours?
What am I missing here?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-19-2012, 02:18 AM
Serf

Iwood, My reasoning has to do with efficiency. I figure while the truck's here I'll go ahead and double pour.