Old 09-17-2012, 06:53 PM
Serf

Default Pompei with GFRC Shell and Metal Roof

I am an architect in Chicago that just finished a 36" pompei. Since the FB forums were so helpful to me during design and construction, I wanted to reciprocate. Unfortunately, my work cycle limited my work to two bursts - one last fall and one this summer.

I've summarized my construction in five pdfs attached to this thread. Since the basic construction of the dome is covered elsewhere, I've tried to focus on the stuff I experimented with - the GFRC shells and the copper shingle roof. Both were successful.

The idea behind the design was to keep the bulk of the oven to a minimum so that it would not overwhelm an urban back yard. Materials were chosen to outlast me. My wife was unbelievably supportive and let me over spend.

Please note that I am not advocating for any techniques. Most will think I went overboard and they may be correct. I chalk it up to R&D.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Summary 1.pdf (1.07 MB, 466 views)
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Summary 2.pdf (952.6 KB, 332 views)
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Summary 3.pdf (1.09 MB, 358 views)
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Summary 4.pdf (1.14 MB, 346 views)
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Summary 5.pdf (955.9 KB, 444 views)
Old 09-18-2012, 08:37 AM
Master Builder

Thumbs up Re: Pompei with GFRC Shell and Metal Roof

Great Job and thanks for posting your build. That is something to be very proud of. I actually thought about a copper clad dome, but had no idea how to do it. You have raised the bar again on this forum. Cheers!
Texman

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-18-2012, 09:01 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Pompei with GFRC Shell and Metal Roof

OMG!!!! That is the craziest thing ever. Beautiful, and incredibly imaginative.