Old 02-07-2009, 09:50 AM
Journeyman

Default Another peel question

I have had a few problems with the pizza not sliding off the peel as cleanly as I would like (toppings on oven floor). So what are your opinions on whether a wood peel or metal peel is best for the initial sliding in of the pizza. I want to buy the best one for this purpose.

Thanks to all, Mark
Old 02-07-2009, 10:19 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Another peel question

I find that my aluminum peel is a little better. Also, try rice flour under your pizza, that really helps!
Old 02-07-2009, 11:59 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Mark, I have no experience with a wooden peel but the aluminum works pretty well. Drake is correct about the rice, it's makes for a good release agent. I took whole grain and turned it into flour using a coffee grinder.

Les...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If at first you don't succeed... Skydiving isn't for you.
Old 02-07-2009, 01:32 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

I use semolina, but others also use polenta. Dust your bases with plenty of flour too. Any thing that is wet like too much olive oil, pineapple juice or tomato sauce finding its way between tthe peel and the base will also make it stick. You sson learn how to slide them off well after you've wrecked a couple.
Old 02-07-2009, 08:40 PM
Apprentice

Cornmeal also works well.
Old 02-07-2009, 10:14 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les View Post
Mark, I have no experience with a wooden peel but the aluminum works pretty well. Drake is correct about the rice, it's makes for a good release agent. I took whole grain and turned it into flour using a coffee grinder.

Les...
Les, my mother burnt up a coffee grinder trying to make rice flour (for shortbread cookies as I remember) so be careful as coffee is a different material (oily?) than grains and I think the grinders are different.