Old 01-17-2011, 03:41 PM
Serf

Default Houston We Have a Problem?

Our oven works fantastic but I think something went wrong on the final refractory coat. We used a non refractory colorant? Maybe too thin? Maybe too wet? Anybody have any suggestions for a fix? I have started removing the top cracked area. Thanks, Mike
PS. This was my first rookie attempt, started with the Forno Bravo plans.
Attached Thumbnails
Houston We Have a Problem?-oven6.jpg   Houston We Have a Problem?-oven4.jpg   Houston We Have a Problem?-oven1.jpg   Houston We Have a Problem?-oven2.jpg   Houston We Have a Problem?-oven5.jpg  

Old 01-25-2011, 07:24 PM
Peasant

Default Re: Houston We Have a Problem?

Oh boy, Im just a rookie myself, but that does not look good... you say your last refractory coat was a colorant? Im not sure what you mean, but I will say what I think, given what I have seen, since no one else has...

You probably started with fire brick since your oven works "fantastic". The refractory material you used should have been some kind of mortar to put the bricks together. Your oven is still intact, so you probably used the right refractory mortar as well. After that should be insulation. This is very important for oven efficiency, and so you don't burn any decorative coatings on the outside! If that is a colorant that is flaking off I would continue to peel as much of that stuff oven that you can. Use a steel brush to remove small or hard to remove pieces as well as you can. Then after youve removed as much of that stuff as possible, I would light a raging fire, maybe several, to try and burn out any chemical residue. Bring that baby up to 1000F if you can. Chances are any chemical residue on there is not good for you, remember the brick is your cooking surface and they are porous. Better yet, you should post what you used as a "refractory colorant", to tell for sure. Good luck

Karl
Old 01-25-2011, 09:18 PM
Il Pizzaiolo