#1  
Old 08-08-2014, 10:38 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CA
Posts: 21
Default what to use under anchor plate

Do I need to put any type of high temp. caulk between anchor plate and bricks for the chimney tube? Do I need to warp the chimney tube with blanket?

Thanks.

Last edited by ceeyahd1; 08-08-2014 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:43 AM
boerwarrior's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 448
Default Re: what to use under anchor plate

I used some high temp caulk under my anchor plate, simply to avoid 'smoke leakage.' Honestly I am not sure that it is even necessary.

I didn't wrap any of my chimney and I don't see the need for it. You are going to lose heat out of the chimney - blanket won't help with that!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2014, 12:20 PM
hodgey1's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NW Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: what to use under anchor plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceeyahd1 View Post
Do I need to put any type of high temp. caulk between anchor plate and bricks for the chimney tube? Do I need to warp the chimney tube with blanket?

Thanks.
I would recommend high temp caulk when attaching the base plate to the brick. I remember the plate warping a bit the first time I brought it up to temp. If your using double walled pipe, I wouldn't see why you would need to wrap it.
__________________
Chris

Link to my photo album:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Link to my build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2014, 05:22 PM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: what to use under anchor plate

Nah I bought it but decided not to use it. Mine is simply dynabokted to flue vent and capping bricks cemented in place to make it look pretty. No smoke leakage what so ever

Wrapping chimney I wouldn't unless there is a specific reason you want to.
__________________
Cheers Colin


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by oasiscdm; 08-08-2014 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:27 PM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,827
Default Re: what to use under anchor plate

Quote:
Originally Posted by oasiscdm View Post
Nah I bought it but decided not to use it. Mine is simply dynabokted to flue vent and capping bricks cemented in place to make it look pretty. No smoke leakage what so ever

Wrapping chimney I wouldn't unless there is a specific reason you want to.
Are your dynabolts stainless? I don't like the use of steel subject to corrosion.And the bottom part of the flue will get pretty hot. A standard dynabolt won't be around for too many years in this position I'd wager.

Last edited by david s; 08-21-2014 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC