#1  
Old 03-05-2010, 02:26 AM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default temp probe

gday guys and girls , firstly I would just like to say what a great forum this is and that you all have convinced me that I can build this thing!
So far I have layed the slab and mortared and made sure first concrete bricks are square and level. I got to thinking after seeing a few pics on this forum that some builders are incorporating what looks like an internal temp gauge!
I certainly would like to include that in my build and would appreciate any more info on the subject.
Cheers
dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2010, 03:20 AM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: temp probe

Hello, and welcome.

Search for thermocouple.

There's LOTS of information on the subject. The short version? Thermocouples are useful for serious bread baking and other retained heat tasks. They are less useful if pizza is your primary interest.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2010, 03:28 AM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

thx alot for the link , I think pizza will be the main dish on the menu but you never know? and I guess its a lot easier to build it in now than consider it later.
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:45 PM
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 399
Default Re: temp probe

Dave give me a call on Tuesday, we have the cheapest probes available, 0-500c, 5mm dial, 300mm probe. 0451470371. in Melbourne
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:52 AM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,873
Thumbs up Re: temp probe

Hi Dave and welcome aboard.
Which part of Aus do you call home, as there might be plenty of local help that you can draw upon during your build.

Cheers.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:01 AM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

I live in Hawthorn and seem to have caught this crazy disease of building a woodfire oven! it keeps me awake at night thinking of all the different ways I can do this thing. Already built myself an indipensible tool and im not even up to the dome! Main thing is its enjoyable and rewarding, pizza is a bonus!
will post some pics of progress very shortly.
cheers
dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:04 AM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

hey johnny the oven man thx for reply, I will give you a call tue. I am hoping you will be able to fill me in on the ins and outs of fitting the thermocouple and where it is best situated.
cheers
dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:15 PM
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 399
Default Re: temp probe

We also have a copper "sheath" that the probe can fit into. The store is in Nunawading.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:53 AM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,873
Thumbs up Re: temp probe

Hawthorn, SA or Victoria. If SA, the we could get together to discuss your progress.
The fun also continues when you start using it. Unfortunately, I don't use mine as often as I should.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:02 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,789
Default Re: temp probe

Johnny,
Why do you use a copper sheath? Copper is an extremely good conductor and will pull heat from the inside to the outside.Its thermal conductivity is 400W/mK compared to that of stainless steel 16W/mK Much better off with a stainless steel sleeve and as thin as possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
consistent hearth temp Salv B Heat Management 8 11-22-2009 05:14 AM
Why do so many restrauants cook at low temp Trichler Newbie Forum 10 12-06-2008 12:17 PM
Optimal floor temp for pizza mark4604 Firing Your Oven 6 11-10-2008 03:24 PM
Where do you measure the temp? DLemma Firing Your Oven 6 09-06-2008 01:51 PM
Instant-read probe thermometer PizzaJNKY Hearth Bread and Flatbread 19 06-08-2008 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC