Old 08-28-2011, 04:25 PM
Serf

Default New melbourne based build

Hi all,

Newbie here just starting down the route of the pizza oven triathlon!

I'm planning on using a the bricks left over by my builder during my house build (around 500) to create a built in BBQ, pizza oven, and bar fridge with a stainless steel bench area between the BBQ & oven in my alfresco area. The BBQ, bench top and beer fridge are pretty easy, and I can do myself, with a little help from a brickie friend to lay the bricks professionally. The oven however is causing some headaches. I would like to build a brick one from scratch, render it and maybe mosiac tile the render, however the Mrs wants a stainless steel one for it to "look nice" (The steel oven would still be wood fired, but just not bricked). If I build one it would need to be pretty small depth wise (less than a meter), but width is not so much an issue as I could even encroch over my beer fridge space if needs be, as the fridge will be below the bench top.

Anyone got any ideas on the style I could use for a short and fat oven, or indeed if the Mrs is correct and a steel oven will do the same thing?
Old 08-29-2011, 04:52 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: New melbourne based build

The key to the type of pizza oven on this site is the thickness of the thermal mass plus the insulation. Since this is typically in the 8 to 9 inch range each side, it is hard to see how your 39 inch space (1.0 M ?) is going to work. You would be left with an oven that is 20 inches at best. Do you have a plan / sketch you can post of your proposed layout ?

As to the aesthetics, have your wife spend some time looking at the various builds on this site. Some are very attractive.
Old 08-29-2011, 05:47 PM
Serf