Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Good Background Information > Newbie Forum

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 07:27 PM
Laborer

Default My oven Plans

Ok, I have been looking at making an oven for over a year now, Problem I have with doing it, is that my house is a "fixerupper," and I am far away from deciding where I would permanently build such a thing. Not to mention I may move out someday.

So I saw in the Forno Bravo store a pre-made pizza oven on a stand that cost around $2000 bucks. After deciding that that was the way to go for me, I came to the conclusion that I won't be able to afford that for a long while.

I am a chef, and I really can get this out of my head, so I was thinking of getting a friend to weld me a a stand on casters then, I could build my oven on that. It would still be smaller than all the ones in the free FB plans, but I think it could compare to the one sold in the FB store. So here is my sketch of my plans. I would love input from you guys as to what you think....
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Pizza Oven Plans.pdf (19.5 KB, 887 views)
Old 02-28-2011, 06:43 PM
Journeyman

Default Re: My oven Plans

The biggest issue I see is the opening. In my opinion a 20" opening in a 30" oven is really pushing it. If the goal is to cook 16 or 18 inch pizzas you are gonna be out of luck regardless. With the fire in the oven you barely have room for a 12" pie with a 30" oven. And yes, I have a 30" oven.
Old 02-28-2011, 06:58 PM
Laborer

Talking Re: My oven Plans

I thought about the opening too, I'll go down to 16 inches.

I am only wanting to make 12 inch pies, loaves of bread and roast meats.

Not all at once of course!
Old 03-01-2011, 01:23 PM
Apprentice