Old 05-09-2007, 11:22 PM
Serf

Default Metal lined

Hi All

I am about to build my pizza oven and having access to free metal I was going to build my oven using a metal shell and then insulating it with a mortal mix
The reason I was going to do this was the construction would be a lot easier for me being a Fitter/Boilermaker by trade
Also my Pizza oven will be build on a metal pole 2mt off the ground as I am limited with space on my deck, so therefore the oven will be at the edge of my deck.
Can any one tell me of any pitfalls with this plan, especially with having a metal lining inside the oven?

Regards
Fred
Old 05-10-2007, 12:59 AM
Serf

Default Re: Metal lined

I assume the insulation will be on the inside of the oven, because metals release gases (often poisonous) at high temperatures, but it all depends on the metal and its thickness etc. What about warping of the metal? With a thick enough high heat mortar on the inside, it would theoretically work. Good luck!
Colin
Old 05-10-2007, 08:45 AM
Master Builder

Who can pass up a bargain. Free metal? Got to find a use for it. Using a metal oven is nothing new. Many small mom & pop places uses a 55 gallon drum cut in half for BBQ. In your neck of the woods clean tanks can be converted into ovens. These oven probably have an peak operating temperature of around 500F/260C

Papua New Guinea - Drum Ovens

I agree that you will want this oven to be insulated on the inside and are essentially using the metal as a tortoise shell. A whole bunch of heat and wood will need to be used if you don’t insulate it. Your typical pizza oven cooks anywhere from 700 to 900F / 370 to 480C. Other than using direct heat from the wood the design intent is to also use the retained heat that is radiating from the side and bottom of the oven.