#1  
Old 01-20-2011, 06:08 AM
Athan's Avatar
Serf
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hope forest, Adelaide, SA
Posts: 8
Default Insulating the flue??

Hi all,

Have been on the site for a while now but have only just recently been able to work on the WFO. Would like to say a quick thank you to the forum and all the guys for being a great source of advice. I could not have gone this far without the help of this awesome community!!!! you guys rock!!

I have just finished building a 48" dome and am about to attach a 6" galv flue on top of the vent. I have a guy making me an 8" clay flue to cover the 6" and have half a bag of vermiculite left over from the insulating slab. Can I / should I pour this loose between the 6" and 8" flues??

I live in quite a rural area and would like the oven as insulated as possible to reduce any fire risk. Will also be putting a spark arrestor on the flue and a stainless mesh door for firing the oven.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanxs.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2011, 06:40 AM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: Insulating the flue??

Your plan should work fine, except the galvanized stove pipe liner. First - ofgassing hot zinc is not something you want around food, second - it's likely to rot out from corrosion is two or three seasons. I'd spring for stainless pipe here if you can get it, if not, get the black stuff they sell to go with woodstoves.

A final consideration: six inch is a small flue, and 48 is a large oven. If you want to avoid smoke leakage on startup, you may want to switch to an 8.
__________________
My geodesic oven project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2011, 01:50 PM
Athan's Avatar
Serf
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hope forest, Adelaide, SA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Insulating the flue??

Hi dmun,

Thanx for the reply.

Would it be better just to use the 8" clay flue?

Would this get too hot? or is a double flue just overkill?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FB insulating board AND insulating concrete? Wineguy Pompeii Oven Construction 1 10-25-2009 12:44 PM
Cracked chimney flue mfiore Pompeii Oven Construction 1 05-04-2009 03:35 PM
Chimney Flue Question RCANCILLA Modular Refractory Oven Installation 5 04-08-2009 08:47 AM
insulating and rendering the flue? mieno Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 7 04-09-2008 08:14 AM
Flue Chimney Tips Alf Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 1 08-02-2005 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC