Old 10-21-2007, 12:29 PM
Serf

Default Building on a raised deck?

I would really like to build an oven, but want to have easy access to it by building it on the raised deck off my kitchen.
As I am new to this, can someone suggest what I would need to do to support the oven?
The deck is about 3ft off the ground, currently supported by wood posts.
Old 10-21-2007, 01:24 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: Building on a raised deck?

Several months ago someone posted a very similar idea (I don't remember who it was). They planned on building a tall concrete block base right next to the deck so they would have deck access to the oven without stressing the deck. I haven't seen any progress pics or updates on this plan.

Your deck is only 3' high, so a base built next to it wouldn't be terribly tall. This is the way I would go. Another idea might be to remove the area of the deck where the oven will go and build the stand up from the ground; so the deck will wrap around the oven.

I over-engineered and built our 700 sqft deck and there is no way I would put an oven on it. The oven will be heavier than a hot tub.

Good luck and keep us up to date on your plans!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Updated!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 10-22-2007, 11:24 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Not an engineer, but I agree with not building on the existing deck. As Ken mentions, a completed oven weighs more than a full hot tub (and many people don't build their decks to withstand that weight, and then have structural problems). I calculated the complete weight of my oven (from ground to spark arrester at about 6500 lbs...more than my wife's car or my truck.
I too would build from the ground up; either next to the deck or with minor alterations to the deck, have it surround the front and 2 sides of the oven.